The Heroine’s Journey of Dora Marotta in London

What is the best thing that I love about my work? There are a lot of things that I love about my work but the best is probably the fact that I can see the collections before they arrive at the store and I can try and discover so many interesting products even before their launch. Every day is different and I can do so many interesting things that there is no time for boredom!

What is my idea of perfect happiness? The possibility to wake up in the morning and spend your day doing what you love is the perfect happiness.

What is my greatest fear? The time that slips by too quickly!

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am a really tidy person but I am too much perfectionist. I sometimes have to remind myself not to take everything too seriously.

What is my greatest extravagance? Too much shopping (in particular what comes to shoes) is for sure my greatest extravagance!

On what occasion would I lie?  I don’t like lying. I prefer saying what I think even if there are some situations where I need to be tactful when I express my opinion.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Role models are a positive example to aspire to. They show how it is possible to achieve my goals and give me the motivation to keep going on my way.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I don’t like envious people that spend their time looking what others are doing, instead of focusing on improving their own work!

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  I had a great time while I was working in Madrid where I really enjoyed working as a personal styling, doing styling sessions with private clients and shops. But I am also having a great time working as a personal shopper and a blogger in London because I am meeting so many interesting brands and getting to know new shops.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I wouldn’t really want to change something about myself. The only think that I would change, if I could, is that I would have taken earlier the decision to pursue my dreams in the fashion field.

What is my greatest achievement in work?  I had the possibility to work as a fashion assistant intern for Vogue Spain. This was a great opportunity and a dream that came true.

What is my most inspirational location in London?  It is difficult to choose a location because London is so inspiring everywhere. I really like going around and observing the street style in different locations where you can find great inspiration!

What is my favourite place to eat and drink in London? It depends on what I would like to eat. For sushi, I really like the Yo! Sushi in Selfridges but for a great Italian pizza I prefer Rosso Pomodoro in John Lewis (they also have the gluten-free pizza!). A place that I also really love is Yorica!, the new gluten free and dairy free ice-cream shop in Soho.

Who is your greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My brother is always supporting me and also helping me in my projects!

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would love to work with more fashion magazines as a stylist.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?  I am working on an interesting personal shopping project. I can’t give details now but you will see it soon on my website.

How can you contact me? You can contact me through the contact form on my website www.doramarotta.com or by email (info@dorafashionspace.com).

Leave a Reply

