The Heroine’s Journey of Helene Meunier in Shanghai

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I get to perform and be completely myself and make people happy!!! They laugh, they dance, I love the energy that goes from us to the audience and back to us, it’s so positive and exciting.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

For me happiness is being totally in sync with yourself and in the moment. It’s to be connected to your higher self which allows you to connect with other people on a deeper level and to just be real!

What is my greatest fear?

My biggest fear is that one day something happens and I’ll have to take a “real” job in an office and that I might loose my joke de vivre. It scares me because I want my kids to have a free and happy mom as an example.

What is the trait I most deplore about myself?

My lack of confidence sometimes, I ‘m sort of shy even though I seem very extravagant. On a daily basis I have to fight the little voice in my head that tells me “you can’t do that, you’re not good enough, maybe you need more training”, it’s also that voice that may make me procrastinate on stuff. Also I’m very undisciplined.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Wear crazy vintage 1920’s dresses!!! We were even thinking of dressing me like Josephine Baker in the banana dress for a vintage ballroom concert, but I think it’s not gonna happen for real! Not covered enough for China!

On what occasion would I lie?

Now! I NEVER LIE!

What is the influence of role models , in my work, in my life?

It’s big, in my work I’m influenced by so many song writers, or interprets, their personalities, how well they use the language, their freedom. In life it’s the encounters I’ve made which made me realize I could be free, that I had talent and worth and that I just needed to quit my own bullshit and come out already!

What is the thing I dislike the most in my work?

Sometimes you’re super busy working and sometimes are just empty and you don’t know when the next gig is gonna come!!! It can be scary and stressful. You need to keep faith in the universe.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

A few weeks ago, I finally wrote a whole song all on my own!!!! I thought I wasn’t able to so, I was so proud when I actually did.
Other than that I’m usually super happy being a clown on stage.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I’d be more disciplined

What is my greatest achievement in work?

Creating my band, making my vision happen for real, the style, the energy. Our first album will be my greatest achievement so far! We have 12 original songs on the way.

What is my most inspirational place in my city?

Shanghai is a very inspiring city, I’d say the former French concession where I live! It’s a huge city yet in that area you somehow have a village vibe, trees, proximity

What is my favorite place to eat and drink in this city?

I like to eat Hotpot, it’s sort of a Chinese fondue, it’s awesome, I love it so much the first song I wrote is about Hotpot! Have you tried Chinese Hotpot? I usually go to one called Laifulou, on huaihai road/fuxing road just over a live music play called Cotton club.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, parter in crime?

I think it would be my friend Lolo, she owns a vintage shop here and we shot our music video there, then she made our band photos and we’re playing at her Vintage events!

Whom would I like to work with in the future?

I would like to work with Barcella. He manipulates words so easily, has a really strong personality and his poetic vision comes to life! Great artist, I’m a huge fan.

What project in the near future am I looking forward to work on?

We would like to go on a tour on the west coast of the US, with my band RendezVous and another band based in Beijing called the Hot Club of Beijing, and do all the festivals and concert venues we can in 2017!

How can you contact me?

You can contact me by email or, the best way to contact me is actually through an app called Wechat that is my main communication tool! My pseudo on wechat is: helenemeunier

Leave a Reply

