The Heroine’s Journey of Laurine Masset in Corsica

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

What I love in my work is creating, letting my mind travel through history and foreign cultures while my hands are transforming ordinary materials into extraordinary dresses. And help women to feel beautiful and love their body. And also learning new skills everyday to be a better artist.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

I know that I am actually living my happiest period in my life, in such a beautiful house in the corsican mountains with my husband and children, having the chance of earning my life with my passion of luxury couture.

What is my greatest fear?

I already know that life can be broken in one second, and everything changes for ever. Nothing is ever granted, so, as I’m enjoying my actually living, I’m also convinced that it will not last.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
I’m a strong woman, I’ve passed through hard times in the past, and instead of learning to enjoy the present day, I’m always looking forward, for the next step to reach. I’m never totally satisfied of myself, and that’s exhausting. But I work on it, and try to take time , stop for a minute, and look at my little son playing in the sunny garden.
What is my greatest extravagance?
I don’t fear to use unusual materials to create dresses, as dripping of plastic hot glue, or leather patchwork for a wedding dress… I don’t care of what a dress should be made of or look like. There is no limit to creativity.
On what occasion would I lie?
I’m not a good liar. It makes me laugh and I loose all credibility. But we don’t have to tell all the truth, all the time, especially if it hurts. And as a mother, I have to hide some facts of the sad reality of this world to my children, until they are able to handle it.
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?
My most inspiring role model is Gabrielle Chanel. This little woman who made her path from the orphanage to the Ritz, who changed the way we dress, and participated to free women with her futile clothing. But she also lost her great love and never have been really happy anymore. I admire her strength and talent, and try to remember to feel the happiness every day.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
Money. I don’t like to ask people to pay. If someone could manage this part of the job, I would be less stressed, and my creativity freer.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
I had many great moments in my career, for example the opening of my first shop in Lyon, every défilé ending, but I’m always looking forward, the best has still to come.
If I could, what would I change about myself?
If I could change something about myself, it would probably to be a little bit less modest. I never totally accept compliments or believe I could deserve them. Self satisfaction is difficult to reach.
What is my greatest achievement in work?
I can’t tell yet. I already made many wonderful dresses, but the “chef d’oeuvre” hasn’t been created yet. But I feel that things are about to evolve in a very near future, and I will enter in a very creative period. Perhaps a piece of exception will birth.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
In Lyon, where I come from, the side of the river Saône, where you can see all the old town and the Fourvière basilisc lightened at night. In Corsica, where I live now, in my house in Monticello, when I open my eyes on the mountains surrounding me, in the sunny morning. It’s like heaven. And a little far away, I would enjoy to return in Japan, to visit my friends,  with my family this time and climb the Fujiyama.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
Would you think I’m kidding if I say at home with all my family arround the table ? But I also enjoy drinking a glass of wine with corsican charcuterie and cheese at Casa Corsa in L’Ile Rousse. Of course eating in a “bouchon lyonnais ” restaurant in Lyon, which is the world capital of gastronomy, and at last, I dream to eat again some fresh sushi in Tokyo, and ramen… yummy !
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
My first fan is my husband of course. But my partner in work is definitely Ariane Chaumeil, a glass artist and designer, with whom we create the ABE fashion design collection.
Whom would I like to work with in the future?
Obviously I would like to continue to work with Ariane, and also other artists from many different artistic domains, to create cross-over artistic dresses.
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?
My next projects are an exhibition of the ABE fashion design collection in Cannes during the film festival, then the Bastia Fashion Week , Corsica, in July, and the Paris Fashion Week in September. Several other events in Corsica until the end of the year, and probably some international events in Brazil, New-York…
How can you contact me?
You can contact me by mail at masset.laurine@gmail.com, on my website laurinemasset.com or on my Facebook page laurine.masset.art
Leave a Reply

