The Heroine’s Journey of Shawn Bates in Los Angeles

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

What I love about my work is that it keeps me evolving and changing as a makeup artist. I get to play all day; creating tomorrow’s looks today.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

I find perfect happiness in a clean makeup case and knowing that I’ve created an image that is trend setting, transforming and confidence boosting.

What is my greatest fear?

My greatest fear is failure, failing myself, my family and my clients.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

My worst trait is that I am often too cautious I need to take more chances in life and career.

What is my greatest extravagance?

My greatest extravagance is makeup and Waterford crystal

On what occasion would I lie?

I have always found that it is far better and more fun to tell the truth than to tell a lie. However, in the rare occasion that it is necessary, it is to spare the feelings of a struggling student/artist that might benefit from a subtle fib of encouragement rather than a harsh critique.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?

My role models force me to elevate my techniques since they are not only my role model but they are also my toughest competition.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

What I dislike the most about my area of work is the fakeness and back side kissing that so many artist use to get ahead. In addition, the flood of You tubers that are ruining the industry because they think a video makes them an artist.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

My greatest achievement today is seen in the smiles of a bride when she sees her makeup, in the publications that feature my work, and in the return of a client (photographer, model or celebrity).

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

The most inspirational location in Los Angeles for me are the museums. Fashion, jewelry, makeup, cultural and history all within an easy drive in LA.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?

My ultimate splurge in dining would be The Reef in Long Beach. But, for a regular go to restaurant -Lupita’s in Carson; the Margaritas, the chips and salsa alone are to die for.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, and partner in crime?

My biggest fan, and partner in crime is Tina Kotch we’ve been friends since we were 6 years old.

Whom would I like to work with in the future?

I would love to shoot a film with Ron Howard and JJ Abrams, apply makeup to Hugh Jackman and Linda Evangelista and work side by side with Ve Neill and Bobbie Brown

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?

The project I am looking forward to will be heading a major fashion show in the next few months and creating the latest looks for Kenneth Chang of Consort 62’s look book.

How can you contact me?

You can follow me on Instagram Makeupp_101, view my portfolio at Model Mayhem # 1294835 and my email for booking appointments at ky2mnagatn@aol.com

Leave a Reply

