The Heroine’s Journey of Federica Fracassi

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

Acting is always surprising and that’s why I love it.

I love discovering new stories, new lives, new women every time I have the chance to perform a new role.

I love the sensation of sharing knowledge and emotions with my audience.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Harmony. Good energy with the people I love. Curiosity and keeping my eyes wide open towards the world, and every little precious thing there is in the world. The sun shining!

What is my greatest fear?

I do fear loneliness. I fear living today, in a world more and more ruled by the ideology of power, profits and finance, where people often lead their lives without desires and are deprived of the hope for a better future.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

Basically, I am afraid that I am not strong enough. From time to time, I am not too self-confident and I depend on other people’s judgment. This can also be a gift , as I am very trusting and I am really keen to listen and learn other people’s perspectives and point of view, but too often I am not able to protect myself properly. I am not enough centered.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Hard question… Maybe the fact that I have often acted naked? I do not make a fuss about it, I am not shy with my body. I feel much more embarassed about other things. Singing, for instance, embarasses me terribly!!!

On what occasion would I lie?

When in front of illness, or death, or some other very serious problems which can condition a person’s existence. Or, as it has unfortunately happened, if I am very confused about a choice to be made, in order to gain some time.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?

I think myself to be really distant from role models as such. I have a precisely formed personality within my work, I am single, I do not have children, I have a peculiar kind of beauty. Of course, I have some archetypes in my mind, artists whom I love, beautiful women to be inspired by… but that’s all.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

It’s not easy to have the chance to work continuosly in my country. Even if you are a successful actress, you have to reinvent your life every year and it is difficult in this environment to lay the foundations for big shared projects.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

When I am free to discover something new and to grow within the knowledge of my skills and the trade of my work. Every time I can improve myself… I am the happiest.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would like to be as beautiful as dancers are, to have a dancer’s body!!!! And, maybe, get a new home, too.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I had an unusual career, and had to face lots of obstacles at the beginning. And, nevertheless, in spite of this, I succeded in doing a job that I love, with the opportunity to share the stage with artists I really admire. Most of them happen to live during my time and this makes everything more and more exciting.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

I love an old public garden in Milan, called ‘Giardini della Guastalla’.

I go there in summertime and imagine to be a queen born in ancient times.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

That is another difficult question. My family, I think, and also a lot of dear friends who have always taken care of me. They are always there to give me advices and sit in the first rows to clap hard or scream out a loud “Buuuuuuhhhh”!!!!

Whom would I like to work with in the future?

I would like to work with one of my favourite European directors, a pure genius: Christoph Marthaler. And with Meryl Streep, of course!

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?

I am working on three different projects right now. A monologue by Giovanni Testori, ‘Erodiàs’, directed by Renzo Martinelli, which is producted by our little theatre, Teatro i. Then, a huge project with 8 performing actresses interepreting 8 terrorist-women, called ‘Raf-fiche’, by Motus, and, finally, a pièce inspired by a novel by Balzac, which we named ‘Louise and Renèe’, adapted by Stefano Massini and produced by Piccolo Teatro di Milano.

I’ll wait for you. Don’t miss out.

How can you contact me?

You can contact me by mail: fedefrac@gmail.com or on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/federica.fracassi.56

Leave a Reply

