The Heroine’s Journey of Elena Zani

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  

As an independent Curator I am constantly learning, growing, trying new things. There are lots of things I love doing in my work, such as conceiving an exhibition and setting it up, writing articles, but definitely the best thing is discovering new Artists and helping them to find ways to make themselves known.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? 

Happy life is a life which has got a confort, health and peace of mind. Doing what I love is a privilege. Apart from this, happiness is also something deeper, I am happy when I am faithful to the image I have of myself, when I see all my efforts are going towards the right direction. Happiness is to follow my dreams!

What is my greatest fear?  My greatest fear is not to reach a predetermined goal.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Sometimes I give too much of myself.

 What is my greatest extravagance? Rarely, when I am alone at home, without my partner and my children, I love eating “porcini” mushrooms, drinking a good beer and watching an old movie!


On what occasion would I lie? I don’t like lying.
 

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I have many models, the famous painter Mark Rothko and all the artists I know who choose to be free, avoid compromises and cannot be bribed.

 What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  It happens that you can find people that disappont you. I work with love and respect but not everybody does.

 When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  I am happy every time I achieve a goal, and when I see that one of my projects comes true.

 

If I could, what would I change about myself?  I am trying to improve myself, and to learn from mistakes, that’s all!


What is my greatest achievement in work?  When an Artist is satisfied of my work, when friends, relatives or my partner say that they are proud of me.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  Since I live on the sea, for me the most inspirational location is the promenade at sunset.

 What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?  There are two places in Chiavari I love the most,“Vinoria” and “Mary Jo” two different cafés where you can have breakfast, lunch, and at night they are perfect for cocktails. There you can find lots of people, and always someone to have a chat with.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  

Since I am working with my partner I can say that he is my first supporter.

Whom would I like to work with in the future?  In the future I would like to work with a great curator in an important museum, there are too many to list!!

 

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?  I am looking forward to opening my blog about art, it will deal with meetings and private interviews with artists. I believe it is a good way to make myself known, to keep in touch with Artists and to give my contribution in this field. It will also be a personal way of growing.

How can you contact me?   

elenazani1979@libero.it
Leave a Reply

