The Heroine’s Journey of Sara Snood

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love to creativity of coming up with a different piece of headgear everyday. When I post the pictures, it brings a little humour to others who may be struggling with their illness.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? Soaking up the sun (easier said than done in the UK) sharing good food and fine wine with the people who I love and cherish – including my dear old cat Pushka Bob, though she doesn’t like wine.
What is my greatest fear? Since my cancer diagnosis, I have faced the possibility of an early death. I think this has helped me be less fearful. If I had to name my greatest fear, it would be losing my ability to communicate – i.e. locked in syndrome.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  I tend to procrastinate and get easily distracted. I wouldn’t say I deplore myself for these traits, but definitely need to hone my skills of focussing on the job in hand, rather than my imagination wondering off on to the next day’s head gear.
What is my greatest extravagance? Avocados and good wine.
On what occasion would I lie? I’m the most terrible liar, so if I do lie, it’s always just a little white lie, as most people I know can read me like a book and would catch me out.
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? People who influence me most are those who put other people before themselves. Unsung heroes who volunteer or work in the most horrific war zones. The doctors, surgeons, oncologists and nurses who have without a doubt saved my life are a great source of inspiration.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Book keeping and admin.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  When I’m asked to give talks at events. I love to engage with people and share my experience and listen to other peoples’ stories. I feel very passionately about what I do.
If I could, what would I change about myself? I would have more self belief. I would be more assertive about monetizing what I do.
What is my greatest achievement in work? Inspiring others with serious illness. Knowing that through my campaign people are being more self aware about their bodies and reporting any changes or abnormalities to their health care provider.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? My immediate neighbourhood. I am very lucky to live in central Brighton. I come out of my front door and know so many people in the community. It’s very hard to feel lonely here.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? A restaurant called Plateau – check them out www.plateaubrighton.co.uk I can’t afford to go here often, but when I do, I always have the best food, wine and service. If you’re ever in Brighton, it’s a must.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Oh goodness, I have no idea. I know Pushka Bob – (my cat) loves me as she follows me everywhere, her love is unconditional and she seems to like my mad hats as she always sits on them.
Whom would I like to work with in the future? Tricky one, I’d love to work with people where my experience would be most useful. Be that speaking at corporate events, or working alongside medical experts to offer a holistic experience to those suffering with serious illnesses. I recently met Judi Dench, and I just adored her – if she’d like to jump on board in some way, then I’d be utterly delighted.
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? The Horizon Centre which is a new facility in Brighton run by Macmillan Cancer Support, and who I have been raising money for through my campaign, will be opening soon. I feel very proud and honoured to be part of the project.
How can you contact me? fizzysnood@gmail.com
Facebook, Twitter & IG: @fizzysnood
Leave a Reply

