The Heroine’s Journey of Desislava Pancheva

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I dont know how to define myself, when people are asking me what I do for leaving, in generally they already have an answer – You are a model right?

My story it’s a bit longer so I prefer just to agree sometimes without explaning much. I was working as an sales managuer aassistant in a showroom and as a cool hunter and consultant for almost seven years of my life for a haute couture brand, modeling its just my hobby. For me fashion as an art form – art as opposite of fine art, but what’s the distinction? Same amount of artictic expression goes into clothes, a piece of poetry, music, writing or a painting. Being a model it’s a shape of art! Way to express yourself. It’s all about being a part of the creation of art – about the beauty. This is how I see modeling. Expressing your self and beeng true to who you are.I love being a part of something larger that makes difference and to be able to transmit the message. Everyday it’s a different and I get to interact with different people, it means im always learning. Fashion is a world of perpetual opportunities. Contacts are there to be made for those who seek them out.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

How you define happiness? I do believe that the true methods of obtaining happiness are balance and satisfaction. Balance is the key, you need to try different things at different times and not to be stuck doing the same old things again and again.

What is my greatest fear

I dont have fears, life it’s too short anyway to live it in fear. But I do fear the loss of someone dear or a member from my family

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I have a hard time saying no to people, and I can be very judgemental sometimes….even to myself

What is my greatest extravagance?

When it comes to dressing up, my style has always been extravagant since I was kid. I will take the “extravagance” in a deeper meaning…

Everyone has something they just can’t let go of, maybe it’s a little thing like latte, or maybe it’s a big thing like a monthly massage, I consider it as much a mental health benefit. My extravagance is “time”, time for myself, time for traveling, time for family and friends, time, time to listen and help others, time that teaches you to be patient and to offer kindness and compassion without expectations.

On what occasion would I lie?

I hate lies and I hate being lied to and we all know that its wrong, but we all do it somethimes. Ithink there are many cases where lying would be the correct thing to do, namely when altering the truth would be more beneficial than being honest, for example, giving a positive opinion that does not truly reflect your feelings to save someone’s feelings from being hurt.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life

True role models are those who posses the qualities that we would like to have and those who have affected us in a way that makes us want to be better people. My mother is my role model and she has impacted my life immensely.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

The fashion world isn’t exactly known for playing nice. Industry insiders are constantly the source of gossip and snobbery. I think in the 90s, the fashion industry was smaller and there were more true artists, the designers owned their businesses. Now people are doing one thing for their image and something else to make money, then the whole industry became more impure. It’s the age of marketing. You package something by hiding the truth of what it is.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Three years back I quit my job as a fashion consultant. It was hard decision to quit a job and the people with who you were working for almost seven years. To go back to a hobby that it doesan’t guarantee enough amount to live well. Did not want to work for living and living for work.

Since I was a kid dreamed to visit India, got offered a modeling contract for six months in New Delhi and I took the opportunity. Modeling its always been my hobby since I was 14years old, a way to help myself during my studies, a way to understand better the system of the fashion industry.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I think an important part of personal development is accepting who you are. But If I could change one thing about myself, I would choose to have one driving passion. I have ridiculous knowledge on all sorts of bizarre subjects and I never get tired or learning new things.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I think lots of people love to be noticed, but few know how to accept a compliment gracefully. When you receive a compliment from someone you admire, it’s a big achievement for me. To be able to work with professionalists and getting inspired or recognizing me as an artist, it is the biggest compliment that I can get.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

I have lived for 15 years in Milan and abroad ( Cape Town, Istanbul, Caracas, Margarita Island, Beijing, New Delhi, Mumbay, Beirut, Vienna, Hong Kong ) . For me It is not the location itself that makes the difference but to feel the vibe, the atmosphere, ambience the mood of the place. This is inspirational for me

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?

When i am in Milan, my favorite place to go for a drink and catch up with friends it’s bar “Straf”, just a steps from the Duomo cathedral, showcasing the contemporary with the elements of classicism. Best Bloody Mary in town!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

A great woman! My mom! My toughest critic, life mentor and biggest fan.

Whom would I like to work with in the feature?

I believe people are good at heart. Still! it’s human nature to test each other’s boundaries. You can freely express your thoughts. One of the kindest things you can do for someone else is listen without judging. You deserve that same kindness, but you won’t always get it.

It’s not difficult to offer compassion to someone who treats you with respect and kindness. What’s more valuable for your personal development, and to humanity as whole, is the ability to do what’s right because it’s right—not because you get something in return. I would like to work and meet more people like this.

What project in the nearby feature, am I looking forward to work on?

Just did an amazing shoot, as a stylist,model and story writer. It’s not the first time that im working as stylist and writing article’s about the modeling world, system of fashion.

It was published in Grazia, magazine. Wanted to show my vision of Bollywood and the concept of the beauty on the streets of Mumbay. Very proud of the results.

My new project it will be changing my life and challenging myself to live in a new place, a totally new beginning. Im planing to move to London to start working as a cool hunter and fashion consultant again, its time to get back to reality…..

How can you contact me?

Facebook: desislava pancheva

Istagram : desislava.pancheva

Email : pancheva@gbg.bg

Leave a Reply

