The Heroine’s Journey of Fernanda Olivares

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I love that being an artist is a constant self discovery that evolves in different ways; you learn to deal with your own light and shadow, your strengths and fears as well.

I adore all the process of working with ideas until they become something tangible; you start out with a piece of paper drawing and writing, and suddenly you have large scale paintings and a solid research about any topic.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Happiness is being around with the people I love, sharing my work with them and the world. I believe traveling, knowing new places and improving my personal visual investigation makes me self conscious and grateful with what I have no matter what.

What is my greatest fear?

Giving up on something or not having enough time to do everything I want.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I tend to obsess with several things.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Besides being a painter, I am addicted to ballet; it connects my mind and body ,inspiring my whole painting process and discipline. I love taking class whenever it is possible;I do pointe work and technique.

On what occasion would I lie? Probably to myself whenever I feel too negative about things around, I´d say to myself to calm down and let things flow.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?

I am influenced not only by painters but from a lot of performance artists, sculptresses.,dancers, teachers ,and choreographers. I try to explore their processes and approach to certain body concepts and sensations. I am a big fan of Janine Antoni, Marina Abramovic. Teresa Oaxaca, Lita Cabellut, Alyssa Monks, and Aleah Chapin.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

I would say that the usual depiction of an artist as somebody necessarily boheme. That idea has been spread for so long that even in our contemporary world people think artistry is just a hobbie and you can´t live out of it.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

When my work has been internationally praised, learning good and bad things about exportation processes,being invited by companies to work with their dancers and having the opportunity of assisting two workshops in one of the most prestigious academies of realism in Florence and New York.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would try to be more patient and let things flow when problems appear. I´d like to work faster in order to do more series of paintings.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I am convinced that the best feeling is whenever you discover your own voice, style and artist personality. When I found my own personal pallette everything made sense and I created a connection between painting,dance, and movement with human body.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Definitely theaters and dance classrooms, where I see others moving or when I feel my own body. I personally love Bellas Artes Palace, and Arena México, where wrestlers present “Lucha libre” as a spectacular show of heroes and villains (rudos y técnicos).

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love a place called “Casa del pan” near Peña Pobre ecological park. It is delicious because sweet bread is freshly-baked and you can find healthy and breath-taking creations in the middle of nature.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I would say that my family- especially my parents who have been always there supporting my passion and believing in me.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I´d love to work directly with performers, dancers, and choreographers ;collaborating in sceneries or making multidisciplinary projects.If I had to choose, I´d probably like to make a project with Janine Antoni.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I have several projects regarding dance and body as a motif, not only for paintings but for multidisciplinary long term proposals. I am interested in exploring Butoh and Oriental dances, Mexican wrestle ,Pas de deux, and Traditional Mexican dances in large scale series of paintings.

How can you contact me?

Please feel free to email me if you have further questions and follow me on social media!

fernanda.olivares.gal@gmail .com

@frnandaolivaresart on FB

@fernolivares on Ig

@FernOlivaresG on Twitter

Leave a Reply

