The Heroine’s Journey of Roberta Mutti

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

One of the most important things for me is freedom from routines. I don’t want to have an entry time for work. I don’t want to be bound to one place, each and every day. I can’t really return to the obligations of a “fixed” location/work. Even if this means having to work more.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Absolute happiness doesn’t exist. Simple serenity is already a very difficult goal to achieve.

What is my greatest fear?

I still have to feel it.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I am too much severe, especially regarding myself. Sometimes it would be good to let yourself go for a little bit.

What is my greatest extravagance?

My whole life is an extravagance.

On what occasion would I lie?

To save someone’s life. But everyone tell lots of little white lies, it’s necessary to make some distinctions.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?

No one, actually. I have no role models. Sometimes, for someone, I’m a role model.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

In my latest years I had to confront with very interesting projects which made me travel very often around the world. This is extremely fatiguing, and makes very difficult to plan things out. Sometimes I think I would love to calm down a little, but at the end I am perfectly aware that I just feel good this way.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

The happiest moment still has to come.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I have always missed having great legs. If I could, this is what I would really like.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

For sure, my latest projects in Malaysia. Very difficult and challenging, yet very satisfying. We are helping a whole industrial field to develop new strategies for the future, and this is an incredible reward.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

This is difficult, I do not have only one city I call home. I find inspiration biking in the countryside or relaxing in a spa. I free up my mind, relax, think and project.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

I don’t have only one city I call home; let’s say usually I prefer indian restaurant, everywhere in the world. In Kuala Lumpur, I love the Malay cuisine at Bijan; and I also like the location and atmosphere of the PS Cafè in Singapore.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My partner in life, luckily.

Whom would I like to work with in the future?

A lot of product designers and the Milan Salone del Mobile.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?

I’d like to extend the PDP-Professional Designers Program, to the countries and companies which need it.

How can you contact me?

Via Linkedin or Wechat, so there’s no problem with the chinese ban.

Leave a Reply

