The Heroine’s Journey of Erika Grillo

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
The thing that more love about my work is the possibility to be myself always interpreting different characters.
To research every time the way to filter the reality using my body as means.


What is my idea of perfect happiness?  
To know yourself very well, to be able to know very well the others. This for me is to be happy.
To choose every day to take care of my soul, to be able to take care of the soul of the next one.


What is my greatest fear? 

The ignorance and the ineptitude. I am afraid to lose one day my curiosity, my desire to do, to experiment. 
I hope that this never happens. I could die of it.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? 

I am impatient. I would want to learn some times to wait more. To take me more time. To reflect on the things in less rapid way, less impulsive. My belly always comes to touch the things before the head.
 
 
What is my greatest extravagance?  

To think the scene is every time my greatest extravagance. 
The custom of the character, the shoes that he will wear, if he will be put make up on and as, from where he comes and where he will be going. To decide the things and then to live her. And then, still, to change her.
 

On what occasion would I lie?  

I have lied some times to hide ugly news or not to give worries to the people that I love. I admit. 
But on the stage – for example – I never lie.
 
 
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?  
The great teachers of the theater of the ‘900 and the fathers founders of the methods that every day use. They belong to my personal background. And then, I take in general to model all those people which have fought for own ideal. Risking the love, the house, the job, the family, the same life in name of that ideal.


What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
I dislike who believe that to make Theatre (contained) it’s necessary to stay into the theatre (container).
I dissociate from the lobbies of power that manage the great financings and they are prepared to spend as money for things of doubtful quality.
In my job I dislike those people who have lost the humility, who doesn’t feel like anymore learning.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  
The first time that I have debut with a show completely mine: “ABITO. Territori di tessuto”.
 I have write the text and I have study the interpretation. 
Close to me in this madness a musician that I esteem more, at the same time, the partner of my life: Walter.
 

If I could, what would I change about myself?  
Nothing. I don’t love to judge myself, neither to judge the others. 
I have the hips very pronounced, for example, but I don’t have intention to change my body. They are an inheritance of my mother, as to deny them? 
I would like that we see what the people have in the mind and in the heart. 
The rest is a heap of meat, bones, blood… a temporary beauty. 
 

What is my greatest achievement in work?  
The conquest of liberty. The liberty to say what I want to say, to tell a history rather than another, to cry or to laugh, to do what I want to do on the stage and to assume me all the responsibilities of my choices.
 

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
In the country of my infancy, surely the “Piazzetta Ss. Medici”, in the historical center of Massafra (TA). In the city where alive currently, the island of the old city of Taranto. Both these places have inspired my art and my person. They guard intact an extraordinary and authentic beauty.
 

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?  
 
“Falsopepe | Enoteca-ristorante”, of course. 
A magic place where you can divinely eat, but above all where you can meet the loyalty and the coherence of a special man as Vincenzo and of his mother: Anna, great chef.
 

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
My greatest fan is my dad, of course. And he represents, at the same time, my greatest sponsor. Infact in these years I have been able to always count on his help, on his suggestions and on his money.
 

Whom would I like to work with in the future? 
There isn’t someone, in the specific, with which I would like to work. With everybody, I could answer. 
 Particularly with weak people. Perhaps for the authenticity wich distinguishes these subjects.
 

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?
There are projects that have been bringing ahead for different years, I think about the Festival Vicoli Corti or Clessidra, theatrical project of which I take care of the artistic direction. Then some work in progress: new shows, among which – I release an anticipation – a monologue with which I will debut in the 2017.
 

How can you contact me?  
 
my e-mail: erika_grillo@hotmail.com

__
Leave a Reply

