The Heroine’s Journey of Claire Lippmann

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

The freedom. As an artist I manage my own time and I can also work at home. My art studio is only a few steps away from my house. Also, I love picking out what materials I want to work with.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

I don’t believe in perfect happiness. There is always a dark cloud somewhere, sometime.

What is my greatest fear?

Worms. I hate the way they move. They scare me.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I am very black or white and can be capricious. What can I say? I’m a Scorpio!

What is my greatest extravagance?

Honestly, I lost count a long time ago. Probably, spending on my art projects… and traveling.

On what occasion would I lie?

If or when I know I’m going to be judged. I don’t do it and I don’t like people who do. Anyway I stopped lying a long time ago, it only brings problems. Why lie when you can simply not say a few things?

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?

They are a constant source of inspiration. I always keep in mind their advice, whether for work or life.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

Sometimes the solitude needed for creation is a bit too absorbent and you find yourself missing having people around you. But work is work!

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Now. Today. In my art studio and home, above Mexico City, only surrounded by birds singing… No buildings or traffic jams. Yet close enough to chaos, clients and noise for when I need it or miss it!

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would fall in love with the right man… No comments! LOL

What is my greatest achievement in work?

The one that’s about to happen. Always. It’s always the most exciting.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

My art studio because that’s where all my ideas come to life. Also my garden, because although my work is very minimalist and contemporary, it is above all very organic. And last but not least, my kitchen: because I also love to cook and ideas spurt while cooking.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?

There are many because Mexico City is gigantic! El Cardenal in San Angel and El Ivoire in Polanco would definitely be at the top of my list for both eating and drinking. San Angel and Polanco are both neighborhoods in Mexico City.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

I am sooooo not allowed to say! But I sure have one. And he is all three in one!

Whom would I like to work with in the future?

I consider myself quite fortunate in that aspect. My masters were among the best in NYC, Paris and Mexico. Japan is what I would love to discover next because of its ceramics, however I have no particular names… but one, Yoshimi Futamura. I find her work truly amazing.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking to work on?

There are many. But can’t say which excites me the most. They are all amazing!

How can you contact me?

http://www.clairelippmann.com

Leave a Reply

