The Heroine’s Journey of Gay Isber

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love creating new collections and the process leading up to it – the thinking, day dreaming, planning, sourcing.

 What is my idea of perfect happiness? I try to find that each day as I know that life is short.

What is my greatest fear? Being really poor and not being able to pay my bills.

 What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am not bitchy which sometimes translates to not being able to say what I really want to say.

What is my greatest extravagance? Travel.  It refreshes my soul.

On what occasion would I lie? If someone asks me “What is wrong?” I am likely to lie and say, “Nothing…”
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?  I have very few.  I wish that I had more and was connected to a network of others.  I just find those people hard to ask.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Selling it.  It is hard to find forever homes for pieces sometimes and getting a great price for a living wage.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I loved my three Sugar Factories where I got to host jewelry making parties and teach people about color and tell them stories about my beads.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would be wasp thin.  Just not my genetic gene pool.

 What is my greatest achievement in work? Getting hired by global companies to work with their brands.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The only location in my city is my backyard garden.  My studio looks out on it.  I just LOVE the birds and nature out there.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? We have a cheap little Mexican food place that we treat ourselves often.  We know when not to go because it will be packed.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My hubby Kevin. He is a true rare great man.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would love to work with Swarovski and help them create pieces to promote their beads and pearls.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I am under contract not to disclose and I don’t want to jinx it. But it is BIG.

How can you contact me?  Write to me!  I am all over social media, too.  Just Google me and I will pop up. I am a good mentor to others, at least I love helping others!

Leave a Reply

