The Heroine’s Journey of Valentina Campagni

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  There are many things I love about my job, it’s impossible to recount them all! I’m definitely fascinated by the idea of improving as an artist over and over again and I love meeting wonderful people, getting to know them and work with them.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Perfect happiness is being able to fly and drawing just with the power of imagination! Furthermore I’d really love to live in a world where everyone pays respect to human beings and nature.

What is my greatest fear?  I’m afraid of losing hope. I’m afraid of losing the use of my hands.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Nothing. Maybe I deplore the fact that I need to sleep at least for 8 hours a day. It’s a problem, sometimes.

What is my greatest extravagance? I can’t confess the first, let’s say this one: I collect pits of avocados.

On what occasion would I lie? I’d lie only if I wouldn’t like to hurt someone’s feelings. Usually I prefer telling the truth:  if my intentions are good, the right words always come out.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I think I’m influenced by almost everything that has happened to me, by every people I have met, but nobody is more important to me than my mother and father.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Sometimes it’s hard for me to sit still on a chair drawing while I’d rather move, walk…

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I remember with pleasure when my husband and I put all my paintings in our car and drive to my solo show in Berlin.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I’d change my hair. I wish I had it as Oriental women: black and very smooth.

What is my greatest achievement in work? My greatest achievement is just the fact that I’m able to keep on working! It isn’t something I take for granted.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  I like a lot walking to Porta Romana and then go back. When I’m doing it, I don’t think about anything, I just look around and try to clear my mind.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? My favourite place is an old and well known pub near my house, where you can find a very good red ale.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? They are my parents, my husband and now my son, who is one and a half year old and has even kissed one of my paintings.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I hope one day I will exhibit at some American and European galleries that I love.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?  I’m thinking of organizing an exhibition against the violence suffered by women around the world. I’m thinking about how to do it and who to involve in.

How can you contact me? 

I’m on Facebook and on Tumblr:

https://www.facebook.com/valentina.campagni

http://valentinacampagni.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

