The Heroine’s Journey of Ad Ri

What is the best thing that I love about my work? My favorite aspect of acting is to play various characters, that have nothing in common with my own personality. It gives me a lot of joy to imagine the life and behavior of a fictional person.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I learnt that in order to be happy I need to have faith, learn how to let go of things, situations and people, and to be able to forgive, help others whenever you can, and to be able to receive and give love and joy.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is to let fear take away my optimism and faith.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  Sometimes I wish that I would be less hard on myself. I sometimes criticize myself in an unproductive way.

What is my greatest extravagance?  My greatest extravagance is probably being free to travel spontaneously whenever I feel like it. As I don’t like planning too much in advance I appreciate having a job that gives me that kind of freedom.

On what occasion would I lie? Being a child I remember lying all the time, then I discovered that if you are not honest with others you are not honest with yourself and therefore you won’t learn a lot in life. So today I only lie when I have to make up excuses for i.e being late to an appointment.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Role models play an important part in my life. Some of my role models inspire me creatively for example Leonard Cohen and Romy Schneider, some give me strength like my acting coach Vernice or Tina Turner and some help me to be more confident in difficult situations.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The hardest part of being an actress is that your body and voice is your instrument of work. Therefore you can easily feel personally attacked or hurt when something is going wrong.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Recently I finished shooting a French TV-series and we stayed in La Rochelle for a month with the whole crew. It was wonderful because we had so much fun with the other actors that I didn’t miss my friends and family for a second. They were wonderful!

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would love to be less serious sometimes and kinder to myself.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Workwise my greatest achievement is to be able to get work as a foreign actress in France. I did not grow up there and French is not my mother tongue, yet I am able to get jobs which makes me feel proud and lucky.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Paris is full of inspirational and beautiful places but my favorite place is the Buttes-Chaumont park and the area around it. First of all you have a great view on Paris when you are on the highest spot and you get the feeling of escaping the cities stress and restlessness.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? In rue Saint-Anne there is some of my favorite Japanese restaurants like “Takara” or “Michi”. “Le Bar” in Odeon is a great place to have a good, strong drink and hang around in the dark ambience.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My agent and dear friend from Vienna, Pedro is the loveliest and most motivating person in the world. He’s always interested in my work and life and has the right words to make me get back on my feet when I feel like giving up.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? The list of people I would love to work with is far too long but if I had to choose three I’d say: Wes Anderson, Paolo Sorrentino and Romeo Castellucci.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? In September I will work on a theatrical creation with friends, which is about the phenomenon of people who disappear in Japan due to social and family pressure. I find it really important to initiate and create work with friends rather than be waiting at home for the phone to ring.

How can you contact me?  If anyone has any questions or wants to contact me they can add me on fb, my name is Ad Ri.

Leave a Reply

