The Heroine’s Journey of Alison Shan Price

Alison Shan Price is Founder and CEO of One World Actors Centre, actor.

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The intense challenge of working with our team to create cross-cultural, multilingual productions. After living in Africa, Europe and the Middle East I became aware that the synergy of different international cultures creates unique art.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? In work, watching our Actor Centre alumni directing acclaimed productions and workshops; Eleni Price, Yousef al Nasser, Hamad al Jenaie and Nader Abdullah. At home, it is definitely when my family is together.

What is my greatest fear? Technical rehearsals and my refusal to accept the limitations of electrical equipment. Although I have a Physics degree and THE WIZ and the wonderful CAMCO Global Events technical experts have been guardian angels for the last 10 years especially with our productions requiring full orchestras, such as the Middle East premier of EVITA in 2014, limited time in the theatre space doesn’t allow for trial or error.

What do I find most difficult as a woman in work? Delegation. But with our creative team I am getting better as they have superior skills in certain areas.

What is my greatest extravagance? Taxis, in which I work,sleep and sometimes change in as they skillfully skip through heavy traffic. My wonderful taxi driver knows all my destinations.

On what occasion would I lie? To calm someone down in a dangerous situation. Calm can make every difference to survival.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Every day I am inspired by different people as I observe their courage and effects on others, from politicians such as our PM Theresa May to men and women refusing to leave war torn villages as they help others.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Rescheduling due to external circumstances.Events for external organisations, requiring permissions and acquiring sponsors are the major causes.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? After our first bilingual production Antigone an Arabian Tragedy which received a 4/5 star rating at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, UK, 2015 which presents 4000+ shows a day. The audience rushed onto the stage to talk to the actors with such enthusiasm.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Giving up sleep. Life is too interesting to ‘shut off’ and ideas often arrive at the ‘artist’s hour of 3am’.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Directing: being asked by international producer Shakir Ibal and the National Council of Culture, Arts and Letters to direct a show in Arabic for DAI Cultural Centre in Kuwait, Training: Introducing accredited London performance and communication exams into Kuwait in 2001 and Acting: Portraying 1930s British explorer and author Freya Stark in Hooda Shawa’s current new one -woman show ‘Freya: Letters from Kuwait’ directed by Abdulaziz al Haddad and obtaining permission from Oxford University to use Freya’s original photographs in the production.

What are my most inspirational locations, in my city? The DAI Cultural Centre, playwright and MD of TAQA Productions Hooda Shawa’s designer home, we are currently working on her new production IKARA , and composer Harriet Bushman’s studio, we have worked together on projects for 10 years.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? In Kuwait there is literally a different restaurant for each meal and my housekeeper Emilia makes wonderful vegetarian dishes.

Who is my partner in crime? I have different partners; from day 1 my parents, whose experience in theatre was invaluable; for the last 30 years my wonderful husband; my daughter Eleni who has developed the company into an international touring company; Harriet, Hooda, Arabic language director Dr Diana Sfeir, DeAnne Davis for the Actor Centre company administration; Brian McLaughlin in directing ‘The Lion in Winter ‘for the Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2016 and our wonderful executive producers Sheikha Yasmine Al Sabah, Hind al Ghanim and Al Ghanim Industries, Sundus Hussein and Bashir al Huneidi of Al Abjar Holdings

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Global organisations to develop multi-cultural productions between countries.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Although a highly emotional process, my current project is highly rewarding. I am the Adapter for Stage and Artistic Director of ‘The Blue Box- Memories of the Children of War’, an original bilingual musical and UNICEF fundraiser based on stories of ‘The Blue Box’ by teenager Emma Abdullah with music by Harriet Bushman, Arabic script by Diana Sfeir (Lebanon), costumes by award winning designer Abdulla Al Awadhi (Kuwait) photographs by UN award winning photographer Islam Mardini (Aleppo, Syria) and a wonderful bilingual, international cast of 18 children and adults.

How can you contact me?

Alison Shan Price on Facebook

Leave a Reply

