The Heroine’s Journey of Giulia Marinoni Marabelli

What is the best thing that I love about my work? As an art curator, my work consists in looking for new artists, studying and writing about their art, organizing art shows for them. What I do love about my work is the fact that I keep on learning and understanding new things, day by day: this makes me grow and change continuously.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? “Perfect” happiness is when I find myself in the right condition to breathe the beauty of everything: I adore looking at things silently and connecting myself to the world. When I am at an art show, looking at the paintings, when I have a conversation with someone, collecting her or his story, when I stay in the middle of the nature, in its wilderness.

What is my greatest fear? Loosing people I love and feeling the sensation of loss, of the loneliness that it implies. And also loosing my freedom.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am the kind of person who tends to make things more complicated than they are. This behavior generates confusion. Another thing is laziness: I try to avoid doing things I don’t love to do and this makes me waste time…

What is my greatest extravagance? Well, I think that extravagance is a great thing! I wish I had more…

I asked my children to answer this question for me… in clothes, my daughter says, in imagination, my son thinks. I would answer: trying to be sincerely utopic and free…

On what occasion would I lie? It’s not natural for me to lie. So I do it only when I think there’s no other possibility. Sometimes I wonder if it shouldn’t be the case to be always sincere, that’s revolutionary…

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Role models are important to set the base from which to start, in work such as in life. Some of them will be then abandoned, some others reconsidered, just a few of them will stay constantly in our lives, to guide us.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I am not fond of organization: in order to have every aspect under control I should prepare my events with considerable anticipation and that’s particularly annoying for me.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? There isn’t a special moment. I feel very happy every time that, after thinking about an artist, I suddenly “see” which is the proper way to introduce him to the world. I then feel very satisfied when I see the enthusiasm in people: my passion has passed through them.

If I could, what would I change about myself? My wrinkles! Jooking aside, I’d like to be more pragmatic.

What is my greatest achievement in work? It happens every time I perceive that I succeed in sharing my vision about art with other people.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? One of the aspects of Pavia I like most is the presence of a river.

I love walking along the Ticino: the running water gives me a sort of peace of mind and feeds my ispiration.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Pavia is full of nice places where to eat and drink. If I don’t have much time I like eating at “Light Cuisine”, a sort of healthy fast food: nice ambience and good food. If I’m going to have a quiet dinner with friends I would choose “Erbaluce”, high level and creative food …

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My sister is the greatest supporter of my work and my ideas: when I am in trouble she is always available to help me.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I’d like to work with anyone who’s got interesting projects to share and ideas on art which could be in line with mine. Art is definitely everywhere.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I am planning to develop projects that deal with the idea of cooperation : coral projects, group shows developing themes and exibitions about female artists.

How can you contact me?

You can contact me on Facebook and through my website: http://www.formaprima.org

Leave a Reply

