The Heroine’s Journey of Joanna Slayton

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I enjoy being on the move and working with new people every day. I thrive on new challenges.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Being successful at whatever I do is my idea of happiness. Being able to share that with my family only enhances it.

What is my greatest fear? I fear that I will not be able to do all the things in life I have set out to do.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My husband tells me that I don’t realize how talented, smart, athletic, or beautiful as I am. I have to agree that my self-esteem falters from time to time.

What is my greatest extravagance? I like designer hand bags but don’t make designer hand bag money. Luckily my husband spoils me.

On what occasion would I lie? I’d only lie to save a life. Other than that I simply feel an ugly truth is better than a beautiful lie.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Role models make me aspire to do more, to work hard, to chase my dreams, and to bounce back from failures.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I despise people asking for favors or for me to break the rules for them.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I was most happy working in Singapore at the airport. It is such a clean, orderly, beautiful country with a very diverse population. I was respected more and treated better than when I worked in Manila or Kuwait.

If I could, what would I change about myself? My dream was to be an airline pilot but training for that was outside my parent’s budget so I got a degree in Aviation Business Administration. I’m about to immigrate to the USA and once I am there my husband will put me through flight school so I can realize me dream of becoming an airline pilot. I’d like to also be a mother.

What is my greatest achievement in work? My greatest achievement at work was when I was promoted to supervisor.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? In Kuwait it’s hard to say. It has to be either my home or place of work. I don’t do much else.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I’m currently in Kuwait and my favorite place to eat is Beni Hanna’s Japanese Restaurant in Avenues Mall.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband, Zachary Slayton, is my biggest fan, supporter, and partner in crime.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Professionals. I greatly enjoy working with professional people that are friendly and positive.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I’m looking most forward to obtaining my American citizenship and pilot’s license.

How can you contact me? joannaslayton@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

