The Heroine’s Journey of Carolien de Brouwer

What is the best thing that I love about my work? My technical skills are connected with creativity and love in my paintings. Nobody tells me what to create; I get to know myself through my work and I feel complete.

My favorite quote from Picasso is: “painting is like keeping a diary”.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Perfect happiness to me is being able to notice the little differences and things in life. To be connected with my surroundings, full of trust just like the inner child.

What is my greatest fear? I have been raised in a very protected environment so I don’t have many fears, and I also don’t want to think of fear.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I don’t want to be boring or be bored. For that I always have to organize or do something, or go somewhere. Sometimes I get tired of myself.

What is my greatest extravagance? My greatest extravagance is my fantasy. I can be a dreamer and pretent, make up big fantasies that even I sometimes start to believe.

On what occasion would I lie? I would lie to spare someone’s feelings; a well meant lie.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? To never give up, always think positively and believe in yourself.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Finding ways of showing my paintings and organizing new exhibitions, packing up my work, loading them in my car, hanging everything and taking it down again, carrying (“schlepping”) my work around; the whole business aspect of it.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I suppose now

If I could, what would I change about myself? Of course I would like to be young again and back to my original self, while maintaining the life experiences I have now.

What is my greatest achievement in work? My greatest achievement is that I work a lot of hours during the week and it never feels like I am working.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I get most inspired at my painting studio. It is in one of the old Philips factory’s in Strijp S in Eindhoven, and the atmosphere of the area really feeds my creativity.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love to go to the Genneperpark In Eindhoven for a picknick with friends where everybody brings their own food and drinks.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I suppose my greatest fan is my boyfriend. He joins me to every opening of a new exhibition of mine. And my Dad, he was always very proud of me and believed I would make it in the world of art.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? At the ‘Heroine’s Journey’ I read the questionaire of Giulia Marioni Marabelli, the art curator. She is looking for new artists and writes about their art and organizes shows for them. I would like to work with her. 🙂

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I don’t have a specific project, but I’m always open for new challenges.

How can you contact me?

You can contact me via Facebook Carolien de Brouwer

or via my websites:

http://www.caroliendebrouwer.nl

http://www.caroliendebrouwer.com

Leave a Reply

