The Heroine’s Journey of Maria Pia Romano

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I am a journalist and a writer. Through writing I live other lives, beyond my own life, and I can feel the mystery of existence, its fascinationand its strength.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? Happiness for me means to live near the sea, with people I love. In every season of the year, not just in summer. Means to feed on the silence to listen to the music of the life and writing of pages the sea and love.
What is my greatest fear? I mainly fear of death and disease. This appens for the people I love, more than for me.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I’m very strict with myself and I always ask a lot, sometimes beyond what the physical can do.
What is my greatest extravagance? In 2009 my husband and I got married underwater. Ours is the most clicked underwater wedding in the world!
On what occasion would I lie? Perhaps only on the health of my family or friends, for a good purpose.
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I read many books, I love many writers and it is normal to feel their influence. When I read Anais Nin and Maria Corti for the first time, I thought: I want to become a writer!
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? It is difficult to find a reliable and trustworthy publisher. But now I have: Il Grillo editore from Gravina in Puglia.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I’m happy every time I write, at home! And every time that comes out my new book!
If I could, what would I change about myself? Nothing. I learned to accept my negative sides.
What is my greatest achievement in work? An inner serenity that was born by writing and it is a sort of salvation.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? My city is Gallipoli, a beautiful sea town in tha South of Italy. I love the seaside and the harbour.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Portobello Caffè, located in Baia Verde.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband Rocco.
Whom would I like to work with in the future? Each new partnership is to experience growth.
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?
I started writing the new novel, it will take time before publishing it.
How can you contact me?
I have two facebook profiles and a facebook fan page:
Leave a Reply

