The Heroine’s Journey of Alessandra Angeli

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love playing and cherish small things, like a child. I love art, creativity, sea, nature, and I feel well with kids around me. My work as Atelierista / educational operator sums all of this: art and environment for kid’s benefit.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? The game of art and CREATION. The BALANCE between the time for my family (including friends) and the time for work; a deep BREATH by the sea, or under the trees of the Gallura countryside, here in Sardinia.

What is my greatest fear? A life without love, a life without my work… the fake care for children

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I don’t know… perhaps losing my temper with the ones I love!

What is my greatest extravagance? Continuously collecting plastic, microplastics and generally marine litter from beaches. I have been doing it since the nineties, it feeds my imagination and creativity, thanks to what has cleaned up and shaped our wastes… the sea. It obviously leaves me with a sense of powerlessness, as the amount of waste that man is spreading around the world is overwhelming.

On what occasion would I lie? My real trouble is “not being good at telling lies”… though it’s useful to lie from time to time, for instance in order not to hurt someone’s feelings or to make someone feel good.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? The influences that formed my life and work are many, I’d like to name the most significant ones: playing my contralto sax with Banda Roncati in Bologna, Isole che Parlano Festival, my thesis at Dams in Bologna “Children’s Art Picture Galleries in Italy”, dedicated to museums for and made by children; my dive into clay and the deep study ov Bruno Munari with Dario Valli and Grazia Gordini at the “Giocare con la ceramica” Workshop at MIC in Faenza; the experience as atelierista in the schools in Reggio Emilia (Reggio Emilia Approach) famous in the world and, more recently, the training as an enviromental educator with Giovanna Spano, with the friends and collaborators met et in the Marine Protected Area of Tavolara – Punta Coda Cavallo and Padrongianus Park in Olbia.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I love communicating through art languages. Creative games and nature can convey a new balance to children and adults alike, giving movement and flexibility to hands and minds

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Over the years I’ve moved to many cities and brought my workshops to just as many places… it would better preferable to have a permanent atelier, but even if it’s harder, I like bringing my atelier arround the world.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I don’t know… I don’t like when I lose my bright side. In this very moment I’d change my somehow fragile skin!

What is my greatest achievement in work?  It’s been both very exciting and rewarding for my job to have my works featured on “L’arte di Imparare”: 8 minutes completely dedicated to my workshops on the beach, featured on LineaBlu, a program on RaiUno, the Italian most popular tv channel.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The sea, granite, junipers and myrtle

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? In Sardinia there’s plenty of good food and wine… it’s hard to choose, but I’ll go for my parents’ home! What a great restaurant! AH!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  My family 🙂 Then the children for sure, and the kids that take part to my workshops, their parents and the teachers I train… it’s hard to say. Now I’m happy becouse I’ve received several unexpected contacts from university students and fellow atelieristi.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I love experimenting and experimenting with myself… I don’t know what the future holds, I hope new, positive old adventures that will make me meet old and new collaborators… and keep on growing.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Open a permanent atelier and create the children’s museum I’ve been dreaming ov for years.

How can you contact me? 

You can find me on

www.angelialessandra.it

on  facebook: alessandra.angeli.12

on twitter.com @AngeliAlessandr

on Linkedin and Instagram: arteliermari

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s