The Heroine’s Journey of Deianira Tolema

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The satisfaction of being a business owner.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? The ability to walk over burning coals barefoot every day without getting burnt.
What is my greatest fear? To miss a big career opportunity and end up regretting it for the rest of my life.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I can be pretty selfish and self-centered, at times:  it comes with the job.
What is my greatest extravagance? I spend a lot of money in travels and shoes (I definitely have more shoes than clothes and have lived in more places than I can remember).
On what occasion would I lie? I try to always be honest with myself as well as everybody else, however, I occasionally find myself lying to avoid hurting other people and their sometimes fragile self-esteem.
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? One day I woke up and decided to take inspiration from some of the most successful people I had ever met; my mother, too, set an example for me with her inner beauty and strength, however, the secret is to never stick to the same role models for too long and aim at perfection.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Deadlines.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I launched D/railed Magazine (www.drailedmag.com and @drailedmag on Instagram), which also functions as a PR agency for contemporary art professionals.
If I could, what would I change about myself? I wouldn’t mind having ten arms like the Hindu goddess Durga.
What is my greatest achievement in work? I figured out an interesting way of doing something historically relevant and making money and give other people jobs at the same time: I would call that a great achievement, considering that we started with 0 budget less than a year ago, and now our client portfolio is growing so fast it’s hard to keep up with it and its daily demands.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Every corner of New York City can be inspirational if you look at it with the right eyes.
What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? The last restaurant I discovered is called “Vandal” (http://www.vandalnewyork.com): they have some great street art on the walls, and the menu is off the hook (besides the Mexican salad).
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, or partner in crime? My fiancé Casey Gleghorn, Director of Booth Gallery (www.boothgallery.com) and Last Rites Gallery (www.lastritrsgallery.com) in NYC: we are two halves of the same brain.
Whom would I like to work with in the future? I’m already working with some of the top artists and writers in the world (a dream come true), however, I’d love to work with/for Flash Art,  Hyperallergic, and the Huffington Post by the end of the year. I’d also like to broaden the list of European,  American and Asian artists and galleries I’m currently working with as a freelance writer.
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Now I’m working on a secret project for D/railed Magazine with an Italian photographer and an Italian artist and model, both based in Rome. The project will revolve around South-Italian contemporary art and social-cultural issues of individual and national identity related to it.
How can you contact me?

My email address: deianiratolema@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

