The Heroine’s Journey of Elisabet Franch

What is the best thing that I love about my work? What I love most of my work is that allows me to speak a language which goes beyond words: Music.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? The day I wake up and fall asleep with a smile.

What is my greatest fear? To lose hope in what I do.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I can have a strong temperament sometimes.

What is my greatest extravagance? My closest friends call me “the silly and crazy señorita”. I am seriously starting to think they are right.

On what occasion would I lie? To me, to lie is to stray from your dreams. Telling the truth may be difficult sometimes, but there is more to lose in lies.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I see role models in my work/life as the amazing flutists and mentors who inspire me day after day. People who, most of all, don’t want me to be as they are or play as they play, but encourage me to be myself.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Competition and ego. Music involves emotion, feelings, passion and communication. We musicians are lucky to be the messengers of this beautiful language, but the day we believe we are better than anyone else, the true purpose of music vanishes.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? The day I played at Carnegie Hall after winning First Place and Judge’s Distinction Award at the American Protégé International Competition, may 2016. I was so nervous the moment before going on stage, but once I was there, I realised dreams do come true.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be more confident and not too hard on myself sometimes. But I guess if I changed it, it wouldn’t be me.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I have had big achievements in work such as launching my first CD, winning important competitions and winning a position in an orchestra. But I want to keep dreaming that the greatest achievements are yet to come.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Teatre-Auditori, the music hall of Sant Cugat, my city. They have a new room to practice in, and I really like to spend hours there playing.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Food is definitely one of my weaknesses, I love it! There are good restaurants in my city but still my favourite is my dad’s barbecue and my mum’s Spanish tortilla at their place with a bottle of cava. And chocolat.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My parents, for sure. They aren’t musicians but they have given me the opportunity to become one. It’s not easy to be Bet’s parents, believe me, I don’t know where they get their patience.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I am grateful for those whom I have had the opportunity to work with, and I look forward to those I will work in the future, maybe as a former member of a good orchestra or as a soloist.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I am so excited about two projects which are about to begin: my Musical Residence at Barcelona’s La Pedrera (first concert in September) and starting my new job as Co-Principal Flute of the Suzhou Symphony Orchestra in China in October.

How can you contact me? Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

