The Heroine’s Journey of Sofia Zuluaga

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I’m a painter. What I love most about it is being able to see beauty in the smallest of things, but also beauty in the unconventional.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? Dancing in the rain.
What is my greatest fear? Spiders. No, really it is not being able to step out of my comfort zone, to stay in the known and settle in the routine.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? How difficult it is for me to call a painting finished. In my mind nothing will ever be finished yet, but I have to move on to new pieces.
What is my greatest extravagance? Not conforming to social expectations, be it in my work, my style, or how I interact with others. 
On what occasion would I lie? I used to create new identities for myself when I would go out for a drink with my friends. It was a lot of fun, until I got caught in my lie. I choose my battles now.
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I admire them for their talent and their achievements but I also try to stay humble and not let them define who I am or have to be.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The social expectation of a deeper meaning in a painting. You don’t need a dissertation to understand a painting if it is well made.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I begin a painting. I’m dancing Reggaeton, I’m bouncing off the walls. The beginning of my paintings are filled with energy, it’s when I pass this stage that I have to sit back and be more analytical, while still maintaining that freshness. 
If I could, what would I change about myself? Being so critical and judgmental with myself. 
What is my greatest achievement in work? Not giving up, no matter how hard the challenge is, or how dim the light has sometimes been at the end of that tunnel. I am proud to continue to strive for greatness, but mostly to be a better, more conscious me every day. 
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I live in Barcelona. Not to sound too morbid, but the cemetery next to my studio is a lovely place to paint and sketch. It is away from all the tourists and you only hear the sound of the sea and seagulls. 
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? It really depends on the day. It is great to be able to enjoy a drink or a meal surrounded by great company, but it is equally as rewarding to enjoy that by myself. 
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My family. They never once questioned the idea of me being an artist, or pushed me into a different career path.
Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would love to be able to work with a person of short stature. To be able to capture the beauty behind what most of society sees as a disability.
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I don’t look too far ahead in the future. To enjoy the process is enough.
How can you contact me?
You can follow me on instagram @sofiazbv or contact me directly through my website www.sofiazuluaga.com
Leave a Reply

