The Heroine’s Journey of Marlayna Glynn

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I have always valued freedom and self-expression above all else. Being an author allows me to experience both as I can work anywhere and inspire others.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? I love the idea of a wide-open day with endless opportunities for self expression.
What is my greatest fear? I do not like to see people suffer, particularly in situations that are not of their own doing.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  I have experienced too much growth to deplore anything about myself, and am always in the process of self improvement.
What is my greatest extravagance? Immersing myself in bodies of water.
On what occasion would I lie? I cherish honesty and do not lie. To spare someone’s feelings, I redirect or evade. If asked a pointed question where the answer will hurt someone, I always ask first, “Do you really want the answer to this question?”
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I love knowing how others have persevered, thrived and risen above challenges. It puts all suffering in perspective, and it often heals my own wounds to know the stories of others.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Editing!
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I spent two years traveling alone in my late forties. My only perfect company was my camera and my computer and I created voluminous amounts of work in my undistracted state.
If I could, what would I change about myself? I would not be so sensitive to noise.
What is my greatest achievement in work? That I was able to take my less than stellar life experiences and turn them into stories that inspire others.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Walking around Town Lake in Austin, Texas is a great way to see other people exercising, enjoying each other’s company and playing with their dogs.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love Whole Foods Market, where you can purchase just about any type of health food you want, or sit at the wine bar, or eat fresh sushi, or enjoy just-cooked barbeque.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband Allen is my best friend, soul mate and twin flame.
Whom would I like to work with in the future? A female director who ‘got’ my work and could turn my books into movies.
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I would like to see my first memoir, Overlay: One Girl’s Life in 1970s Las Vegas, made into an inspirational film. I love the idea of inspiring children from disadvantaged backgrounds to know they can rise above.
How can you contact me?
I am on Facebook as Marlayna Glynn, Instagram as Authormarlaynaglynn and by email at marlaynaglynnbrown@gmail.com.
Leave a Reply

