The Heroine’s Journey of Brenda Perlin

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love that I have been able to express myself, honestly and in the most vulnerable sense. Most of the time we don’t get to finish a thought.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Nothing is ever perfect but life is best when you aren’t faced with health issues, money restrictions or lacking in love. A good dog usually fulfills most everything else.

What is my greatest fear? Suffering. I’ve dealt with a chronic illness since 2008 and I can’t bare the thought of being faced with anything as bad as that or worse.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I hate that I am so picky. If things are not just the way I want them I tend to dwell on it. I wish I were able to just…Let. It. Go.

What is my greatest extravagance? Spending money on my appearance. My vanity is very expensive. And more so as I age.

On what occasion would I lie? When it’s to protect someone I love. Even if I was hurting them at the same time. I wouldn’t want them to suffer… Long story!

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? There are quite a few but the love of my life has influenced me to be a bit more carefree and has allowed me to enjoy a better life than I had. Author Mary Ann Bernal is maternal, nurturing and has helped me more than anyone in their right mind would. Author Mark Barry makes me laugh almost daily and encourages me with my writing. Author KS Brooks has made me believe we are never too old for new friendships and Arlene R. O’Neil has taught me something about courage and bravery.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? If you aren’t famous or have connections you are practically invisible.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? There have been so many joyful moments in publishing my stories but just recently I’ve been touched by the positive reaction I have received from L.A. Punk Snapshots, the photo book I just released filled with photographs I took in Hollywood in the eighties.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I hate my hair but seriously, I would like to learn not to be so hard on myself.

What is my greatest achievement in work? It’s so rewarding when a reader lets me know they connected with one of my stories. Though the finest achievement thus far was when Billy Idol commented on Twitter about L.A. Punk Rocker. I felt like a giddy teenager and actually jumped up and down!

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I do love the water. Laguna Beach is a beautiful place to escape.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Wherever my boyfriend is. We love being together whether we are at somewhere fancy like the Montage or Panda Express where we share a plate of teriyaki chicken and rice.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My boyfriend of six years. He is everything to me. My second chance at happiness is better than anything I could have ever imagined.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Author Mark Barry.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? At the moment the third anthology in the punk series is coming together. I want this one to be as honest as possible. As true as possible and as inspiring as possible.

How can you contact me?

Website http://www.brendaperlin.com Facebook https://www.facebook.com/brenda.perlin Twitter https://twitter.com/BrooklynandBo

Thank you very much for taking an interest in my story.

Leave a Reply

