The Heroine’s Journey of K.S. Brooks

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  I love the rush I get while creating. There is nothing quite like being in the zone, and having words, images, and ideas effortlessly flowing onto the screen.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  Being able to help people by using my writing and photography skills.

What is my greatest fear? I would hate to lose my creativity.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  I have a difficult time with how I procrastinate out of fear of failure, especially when I know that failure is nothing but an opportunity to learn and go on to success.

What is my greatest extravagance?  I am a very practical person, so therefore my first inclination is to say my Keurig machine (I mean, doesn’t a $20 Mr. Coffee do sort of the same thing?). But I think my MX-5 convertible is probably a more appropriate answer!

On what occasion would I lie?  I am a brutally honest person – so the only reason I can think of that would cause me to lie would be to save someone’s life.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?  I look at people I know who work very hard and use their work ethic to push myself forward when I feel like taking it easy.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  I wish I didn’t take so long to percolate my novels. I am very lucky to also write children’s books, which I’m able to produce much faster.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  While photographing my adorable writing partner and inspiration for my children’s books – Mr. Pish the Traveling Terrier – in northeastern Washington State. He was such a joy and a huge part of my heart.

If I could, what would I change about myself?  I would forgive myself more easily, or at all.

What is my greatest achievement in work?  While I have created more than 30 titles, I feel that my greatest achievement is taking the knowledge from that and helping other authors through IndiesUnlimited.com, a website that supports and nurtures indie authors.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  Wherever I am. Ideas come to me everywhere, and Stevens County, Washington is a pure and natural place which is ideal for artists.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?  My friend Ladell has a lovely home with an amazing garden, and she is wonderful company. So, at “Ladell’s place” would have to be my answer, no matter which one of us is doing the cooking.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  I’ve been without a partner in crime for a few years now, but my writing partner Stephen Hise has always encouraged me and helped me to be better at what I do.

Whom would I like to work with in the future?  I would love to work with Rutger Hauer on any project. His energy and talent are incomparable and it is clear that he is a great teacher. I would love to have the opportunity to learn from him and create something amazing with him.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?  So many projects coming up – but I think the rewrite of my first novel that was published in 2001 is going to be incredibly liberating. Its style is so outdated for today’s readers and I would really like to turn it into something I can be proud of.

How can you contact me?   Http://ksbrooks.com/contact

Leave a Reply

