The Heroine’s Journey of Laurie Boris

What is the best thing that I love about my work? In addition to playing with words, which I adore, when I write and edit I get a chance to experience life through someone else’s eyes. It helps me understand more about the world, and it’s an empowering break from reality.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? A beautiful day, complete silence, a good cup of coffee, and a story that’s flowing so well it’s like I’m channeling the characters.

What is my greatest fear? That I will run out of time before I get to explore all the stories in my head. And they keep coming.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I’m a natural introvert, and my go-to mode is “blend into the wallpaper,” so bouncing out and extolling the virtues of my latest novel sort of gives me hives. But maybe that trait has actually made me a better writer.

What is my greatest extravagance? I live a relatively simple life and have pared down quite a bit in recent years, but one thing I won’t compromise on is my pool membership. I love swimming and I can’t imagine giving that up.

On what occasion would I lie? As a fiction writer and an editor, it’s my job to tell the truth. In my personal life, if the consequences of the truth would be too hurtful to someone I love, I might consider a polite evasion, but I’d probably be wracked with guilt about it. I’d make a horrible politician.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I’ve learned so much—about writing, about life, how to handle success and failure—from watching the people closest to me. And in recognizing when it’s time to move on and test my “wobbly fawn legs” out for myself.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I see author friends doing quite well with their mysteries, or thrillers, or romances, and I get irritated that I can’t settle on a genre. Certainly that would make my marketing easier, and it would confuse readers less.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Each phase has its own kind of happiness, but one of my happiest moments in the writing process is sitting down with a clean printout of my first draft, a bunch of highlighters and sticky notes, and tearing it up to make the next draft.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I’d like to worry less. It’s a pattern I’m working hard to break.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I’d be lying if I didn’t say that it’s a bit of a kick to look at my bookshelf and see a half-dozen books with my name on the spine…because I never thought that would happen. The greatest achievement for me is that I keep going, and keep learning, and keep surprising myself.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Right now I’m very fortunate to live in the Hudson Valley, a beautiful part of New York State, and I feel inspired when I go for long walks, especially near the water.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Right now it’s a small Mexican restaurant with fresh, spicy food and cold, cold beer.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I’m lucky to have a supportive family, so if I name names, I’m bound to leave someone out. My husband is one of my biggest cheerleaders; my parents instilled in me a passion for reading and they’ve given me so much.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? If Janet Evanovich ever comes knocking on my door, I’m grabbing my laptop and going wherever she leads. I imagine she’d be fun to work with.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I don’t like to talk too much about what I have in the pipeline, but I’m sure it will be about some of my favorite things (food and baseball), in whatever genre it wants to present itself.

How can you contact me?

You can stalk me through my website (http://laurieboris.com), on Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/laurie.boris.author), or on Twitter (http://www.twitter.com/LaurieBoris).

Leave a Reply

