The Heroine’s Journey of Silvia Levenson

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I’m an artist, therefore my work is my life. What I love best is that each day is a different one, I create my daily existence.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Being in the present moment, feeling every moment of life.

What is my greatest fear? Routine, having a trivial life.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Occasionaly my ‘insanely optimism’ leads me to underestimate difficulty.

What is my greatest extravagance? ——

On what occasion would I lie? Generally speaking I tend not to lie, however I could do so to keep others from suffering. (Lying for a good purpose)

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I dislike predeterminated concepts and always tend follow my intuition

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I abhor superficiality and find distateful trends in the art’s world

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? It was when paticipating in northern Scotland, in Latheron, to the opening of an exhibition ‘Art Byre” organized by Bullseye Projects, on until the end of 2017. An unusual place for a contemporary art exhibition to take place: a 300 year’s old stable and the opening party was magical, in such a remote place the neighbourhood was taking part, bagpipes music together with violin music was being played and dancing girls were seen: an unforgettable experience.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Full of imperfections, I accept myself the way I am.

What is my greatest achievement in work?  I’m extremely pleased with my travelling exhibition ‘Identidad Desaparecida’, which speaks about disappeared children born in Argentina during the military dictatorship who were given iligally in adoption. At the moment it is shown in the Glass Museum of Murano, as a tribute to the ‘Abuelas de Plaza de Mayo’ ;however, it has already been in the cities of Buenos Aires, La Plata, Montevideo, Washington, Paris, Barcelona, Riga, Tallin, and will next be at the Bullseye Projects Gallery in Portland(OR)

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The lake. I am living in in Lesa, very close to Lago Maggiore.

                                                                                                                                                                  What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? My partner Marco Del Comune, whom a part from being is an excellent fotographer is a passionate cook… consequently my favourite place to be and to eat is at home when he cooks.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My sister Bibi Levenson, whom I adore has always supported and accompanied me. With her I can share my ideas, my projects and laugh together as much as when we were little girls..

Whom would I like to work with in the future? My daughter Natalia Saurin a great visual artist and video maker

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? My next project is called ‘In Mother’s name’

How can you contact me?

www.silvialevenson.com

silvialevenson@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

