The Heroine’s Journey of Terry Melani

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love activities’ freedom in my work as well as the opportunity to cast a spell: there are no hours and closed rooms for all the day, there are open mental places where an inspired idea becomes a dream and finally a real message.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? In my opinion the perfect happiness does not exist! The way to happiness is the perfect bland among our body, our soul and our world. This matter is possible if we listen and follow our truth.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is losing my family or my dear friends so I could be alone. Moreover I’m very afraid of the unfeelingness, of the lack of concern for the plight of the neglected and of the earthquake. On 18 January 1968, when I was only 19 days old, I lived the fury of the earthquake in Sicily!

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I’m very flexible with people. I always say yes and people, who want to exploit this, disappoint and wound my human spirit.

What is my greatest extravagance? I have got three greatest extravagances:

1. My previous job was in a car factory for 12 years: I wore my boiler suit which smelt of diesel, pushing some buttons, turning on a grease gun, working night and day. This extravagance was a great lesson for my future. Thanks to it, when I was 40 years old, I decided to change my life.

2. I undertook a new job six years ago. It’s a non permanent job, but I can take care of myself and of my beloved community. In this way I can live the present!

3. My cats are the last but not less important extravagance. I’ve got 18 cats! Wonderful! I saved their lives because their mother was dead. I want to wish both my cats and myself good luck.

On what occasion would I lie? I hate telling a falsehood; if I had to lie, the reason would be to help another person or to save something.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? My first role models are my parents. They taught me some values like rightness, open-heartedness, love for music by my father, privation and unconditional love by my mother. Moreover there are two teachers of wisdom who taught me to believe in my dreams, to live constantly my beloved keenness. The first teacher is Renato Zero, a great Italian singer, who is, I believe, the living example in that his dreams came true because he had a real dream! A song called “Il maestro” (“The teacher” in English) says: “Listen your teacher! World is before talent and keenness and the rest will come later”. The second one is Mark Harris, a great American musician and Italian adoption. When I signed my letter of resignation (the day before my birthday), he wrote me this message: “Work is love made visible”; he encouraged further my arduous choice. Later he was my guest in a sporting, artistic and social event that I had invented and organized for the first time. This concerned a show of football, music, dance and theatre to speak about violence against children and pedophilia.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? In my work I dislike professional people that are not serious, exploit the others for their individual greed without recognizing their colleagues’ professional effort.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I’m very happy when my idea is born, comes true and meets towns and people’s mind and heart. My idea is upbeat so my dream is in people’s soul that understand and make the most quality of my messages.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I’d like to learn to love myself, then my neighbours.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I’d like to convert my keenness into a real job. Meanwhile I will continue to insist that I have the forcefulness, the driving power and the enthusiasm to give as present someone a dream. In the past this dream didn’t exist but today it is coming true thanks to the artist.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? My most inspirational location is a wonderful villa, in the middle of the town, where I spent my childhood and my youth; in the past it was the house of the Marquis Romanazzi Carducci, today it is a beautiful hotel. I love Puglia’s seaside (Puglia is a region in the South of Italy where I live) and the “trulli” in Itria’s Valley where there is a good energy.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? In my city there are many places where people eat very good local products: to the seaside, in the countryside or in the holiday farmhouse. There are more places from which people could choose! I like eating in some friends’ haunts where environment is more companionable for example at the “Casale dei Cavalieri” in Ruvo di Puglia, at the “piccolo Borgo Antico” in Giovinazzo near Bari or at the “Uascezze” (in dialect of Bari it means joyfulness) to drink a good glass of wine or beer.Because Apuliae is important for its wines, I usually go to the Cantine Scattaglia in Adelfia, a little town near Bari, to drink a good glass of red wine or to buy some bottles.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My greatest partners in crime are my friends who encourage me in my work and the performers who I follow during their shows or their promotions. For a year I’ve been working with a famous musician, Renzo Ruggeri, a great jazzman and accordionist. I’m very glad and pleased! There are also many young musicians like Nico Maraja (his last compact disc is “Astrautore”), or some Apulian singers who won the “Lucio Dalla’s Award” in 2015 (their names are Rosario le Piane, Stefano Sportelli, Dely De Marzo and Francesco Contessa). Finally there are many young people who need a professional guide.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? In the future I’d like to work with professional people who might teach me new values to have the chance to develop and make a name for myself. I just hope that I will be continued my professional experience with the Society Grotte di Castellana in Bari. This summer I worked with this society during the show “Grotteland, meraviglia d’estate”, in fact I organized some cultural events like “Valentino is Tango” that it’s a Rodolfo Valentino’s tribute by Renzo Ruggeri and Umberto Fabi (actor and director). My dream is working with my nephews who are art lovers: Andrea Melani (a good jazzman and a drum player), Ettore Melani (a film director) and Franky Arper (a pop-blues singer).

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Today I’m working with the Maestro Renzo Ruggeri to drawing up new plans.It’s a very big opportunity for me to work to this plan, so, I’m very glad and I am looking forward to work on.

How can you contact me?

My contacts are: Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/terry.melani

Twitter, Youtube, Linkedin, Instagram, Pinterest like Tery Melani E-mail: terry.melani@gmail.com

I say thank you to my friend Alessandra Schirinzi for Lecce, for English translation

I SOGNI NON DEVONO MORIRE! Terry Melani

DREAMS MUST NOT DIE! Terry Melani

Leave a Reply

