The Heroine’s Journey of Giovanna Lacedra

What is the best thing that I love my job? As a teacher of art history I love the opportunity this job offers me to educate to the beauty and truth. As a performance artist, the empathic contact with the public: a fierce feeling.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? There is no possession of happiness. It is simply here, always same as itself. What you love gives to you a sense of fullness. A wealth that only the things done with love can offer.

What is my greatest fear? The death. I’m so afraid of death. My death. But also the death of the people I love. This is one of the fears that I struggle to deal with.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My perfectionism. My fear of failing that often holds me back.

What is my greatest extravagance? Despite being an artist, I admit to not be particularly extravagant. Maybe concerning my hairs. I need to often change haircut and, especially, color.

On what occasion would I lie? To avoid unnecessary suffering to someone whom I feel affection or love.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Oh! Rather than models, I personally prefer anti-models. I look at the models to avoid. And I practice to become better. In this way, I exactly know what I don’t want to become. As a teacher and as an artist.

What is the thing that I like the most in my work? The ability to give myself: to give my knowledge and my essence. Teaching as a performing action. Donate something that is deeply mine. Share. Light a spark in the other.

When and where I was the happiest in my work? In any place where there was human contact with the audience. And where I met true professionalism in gallery owners and experts.

If you could, what would change about myself? My perfectionism. My fear of making mistakes. I would be less controlled. Lighter and more spontaneous.

What is my greatest achievement in work? In live performances, it is the involvement of those who are watching and listening to me. The empathic attitude of the others. During art history classes, I would say the curiosity and fascination that I can turn on in my students.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Recollection in my house. When I do nothing but stand still and listen.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? I don’t have a favorite place. But people I prefer to share food and wine with.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Anyone who believes in me.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I wish I could bring my performances abroad. London, New York …

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? A private project: becoming a mother.

How can you contact me? http://www.iosottraggo.it giovanna.lacedrawebart@gmail.com iosottraggoperformance@gmail.com https://www.facebook.com/giovannalacedra/?fref=ts

Leave a Reply

