The Heroine’s Journey of Sarah Murray

What is the best thing that I love about my work? As a scientist, I wouldn’t exactly call it work, science is a way of life. I love that I am dealing with new information all the time and so I learn something new every day. I also love that my profession can make a difference in peoples lives and the world too, even if on a very small and modest scale.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I don’t think such a thing exists. We all have moments of happiness and sadness but you can make yourself happy or happier by doing things you know will make you happy. For me this can be simple things like running, drinking coffee, being out in nature and being with friends.

What is my greatest fear? I don’t mind being by myself but I guess I would fear ending up alone. Perfectly natural, right?

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am flawed like everyone else but don’t really deplore anything in myself. I love self developmenet /self improvement so I am constantly trying to be a better version of myself anyway. I guess I would like a smaller butt.

What is my greatest extravagance? Recently, this passed July I went to my first ever AIDS Conference in South Africa which I had to pay for myself. This is as well as the cost of travelling there. So worth it though.

On what occasion would I lie? I don’t like lies, there is too much BS in the world already and I don’t want to add to it. I am brutally honest, telling it like it is, as life is too short. I guess I would lie to protect a persons feeling but this is just a harmless fib right?

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I think about what I want to accomplish and look at people who are doing it successfully already, in a sustained way. I find friends hugely supportive and inspiring but also many well known scientists  and always amazing actor and human Rutger Hauer.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I always want to be doing science so running out of funding and having to do any admin/paperwork is a real pain.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Happiest when I was at university doing research and I am trying to get back into this with a view to doing it forever. Nobody seems to be advertising HIV research! The constant learning nature inherent in such work keeps me at my happiest.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would speak more kindly to myself, be less critical. This results from me overthinking things and thus easily confusing myself. Still want a smaller butt though

What is my greatest achievement in work? I believe my greatest achievement is yet to come though I am proud to be educated to Master’s level and my contribution to whale research in Italy last summer. Being involved with a a few non-profits is something I never thought would happen so I am proud of that achievement too.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?MOSI (Museum of Science and Industry) where I am a STEM Ambassador and volunteer at science festivals, weekend evets etc. In fact I shall be there tomorrow volunteering at a graphene event. I love it, all the staff and volunteers are wonderful and warm and it really is a fab and fun place for all ages.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love indian food and my favourite restaurant is still the first one we visited when I first moved here. Is The Tandoori Punjab in our ‘curry mile’. Favourite place to drink is The Font which does great non indian food too.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My partner, family and many friends. I wouldn’t be without them.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Dutch actor, Rutger Hauer though in a sense I already have worked with him at fundraisers. I really cherish this and would like this priviledge to continue. It would be an honour to work with anyone doing good science in an area that interests me.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? 
Off work over summer so nothing on the pipeline workwise yet. I would love to work on any HIV research projects, anywhere in the world.

How can you contact me?
Facebook: SarahLovesScience
Twitter: @Sarahscientist
 
 

Leave a Reply

