The Heroine’s Journey of Clarisse Mekongo

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The best thing that i love about my work is freedom and the opportunity of being me.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Being free, inspiring people with low self esteem, doing something important for humanity.

What is my greatest fear? My fear is to not achieve my goals, or to give up my dreams

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I’m too emotional

What is my greatest extravagance? Quit a well paid job to embrace an artistic career from zero

On what occasion would I lie? When somebody is already broken, telling him things that can put him more down is not necessary, so I can lie to him.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Having a model helps a lot, figure out how you can achieve your goals using other people experiences is essential. But when those models doesn’t resemble you, you can’t really identify yourself easily and build strong self esteem, so I found my way in my head and decided i want to be a model to inspire young ladies with disabilities for them to know it’s possible.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Artistic world can be so subjective and the showbiz environment can be so hard, a jungle for people with lack of self esteem and minorities…

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? On stage while performing, and when I decice to be an entrepreneur and made things happen.

If I could, what would I change about myself? More self esteem, more risk taking

What is my greatest achievement in work? Being a social entrepreneur by creating an organization to empower other people lives. Creating my jewelry brand and in general making things happen to realize my dreams.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Yaounde

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Mask Bar Lounge, Bastos in Yaounde. It’s an incredible place managed by a libanese friend. The place is a venue for different artistic events and activities (concerts, photos exhibitions, visual arts exhibitions etc…).

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My mother is my first supporter, she is not a partner in crime but she supports every decision I take and encourages me to realize my dreams.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Oprah Winfrey

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? In the nearby future, i will work on a communication campaign about disability, physical appearance and beauty to change people minds about physical appearance and look over the handicap.

How can you contact me?

Clarisse Mekongo « Kirii’ah »

A : kiriiahmekongo@gmail.com http://www.voicesofhopeinitiative.org http://www.flickr.com/photos/mekongoclarisse http://www.facebook.com/clarisse.mekongokiriiah

Leave a Reply

