The Heroine’s Journey of Isabel Serra

What is the best thing that I love about my work? What I love best about my work is that being a musician (a flutist and a flute teacher) enables me to establish synergies and collaboration with other amazing professionals. Working together makes possible to enhance each other’s talent and dedication, to learn a lot, and to give the result, which is art, to the world.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? To me, happiness has a lot to do with the inner feeling of being in peace within myself. Breathing calmly and being conscious of the precious gift that having a body to enjoy life is helps me to get closer to this so called feeling of happiness.

What is my greatest fear? Very often fear is not real, it is only something that our mind can create. So I try to get rid of fears and only to be realistic about my decisions.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Well… I really deplore and celebrate at the same time the fact that some times my level of sensitivity is too high. On one hand this makes me vulnerable but on the other hand it is quite useful to learn about others and about myself.

What is my greatest extravagance? I am the moderate kind of person. Can’t remember one…

On what occasion would I lie? When I know the truth, but telling this could harm someone’s heart, or it is a useless or not relevant information, I would keep in silence. Is this lying?

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I love learning, so I watch carefully to people who shine in their profession or in their personal life, and try to find inside of me all the good I admire in others. This doesn’t prevent me to keep being myself, as every human being is unique and different!

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Every decision in life implies some loose. Music is a highly demanding profession and some times I do not have enough time for family or social life.

When and where was I the happiest in my work? There is no doubt that the happiest moment in my work takes place during performances, in the middle of the beauty of the music: orchestral, chamber music, or playing alone… Suddenly a spot of consciousness of having all my senses and energy concentrate in what I do appears.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to improve my physical endurance and, sometimes, to have a bit more of patience.

What is my greatest achievement in work? To be able to live exclusively from music is the biggest award to a life of work and dedication, doing what I love with passion.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The “Forti de la Reina”: it is an old abandoned 18th century fort by the sea, next to the Miracle Beach in Tarragona. I often go there to meditate, to calm down and to recharge my energies.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love the vegan restaurant “El Vergel” and the “Sha” teashop, both next to the Cathedral in the old centre of Tarragona.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I couldn’t tell you just only one person… Of course my family, and also a delightful group of close friends who believe in me unconditionally. I really feel loved and supported.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I have recently had the joy to work with some composers, so I would love to keep this collaboration going on for long. I would also like to establish a link with the historical early music performance world.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I am looking forward to work on the idea of making a CD which will be a sample of the different aspects of my flute playing.

How can you contact me?

http://www.isabelserrabargallo.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

