The Heroine’s Journey of Melanie Tilkov

What is the best thing that I love about my work? To be able to do to a canvas whatever I like – the great freedom. To use my paintings to communicate with people.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  To be totally absorbed by my work, to be in a complete “flow”

What is my greatest fear? To someday not be able to paint and sculpt anymore, for whatever reason

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? To postpone things, to be too afraid

What is my greatest extravagance? To work in the profession I love

On what occasion would I lie?  To protect and avoid hurting people

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?  My works deals almost exclusively with female topics. I often portrait women or girls, and they always have dignity and a certain, specific aura. To me, the artist most encouraging in this space is Paula Modersohn-Becker.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  That it’s lonely work

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I had started studying and found out this was exactly what I wanted to do

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be more patient and calm

What is my greatest achievement in work?  That I am able to paint whatever I fathom

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The nature and landscape along the Rhine river

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? On my terrace

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My family

Whom would I like to work with in the future? With museums

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?  Several bigger exhibitions next year, some of them international

How can you contact me? www.m.tilkov.de and melanie@tilkov.de

Leave a Reply

