The Heroine’s Journey of DV Berkom

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Other than the creative aspect, I love being able to interact with readers all over the world. Many have become friends.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? A warm, sunny day on the water with friends and family, whether it’s snorkeling, floating, swimming, or just hanging out at the beach with great food, great wine, and a great book.

What is my greatest fear? That the majority of humanity won’t ever figure out how precious this place is and will continue to stick their heads in the sand, believing that there’s nothing we can do.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? At this juncture in my life, I’ve actually come to accept myself, warts and all, so rarely if ever ‘deplore’ anything. Usually, I learn from my reaction and move on.

What is my greatest extravagance? A really good bottle of wine and an exceptional meal, and traveling, although both feel like necessities rather than extravagances.

On what occasion would I lie? Every time I write a book

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? My parents were huge influences on my ability to both create art and run a business, as well as instilling in me the belief that a woman can do anything she sets her mind to. My mother has been an artist and staunch feminist most of her life, and my father owned several businesses and is the practical one of the two.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Not being in the zone.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I’m in the zone and words and ideas are flowing, unimpeded.

If I could, what would I change about myself? My impatience, although I’ve learned to work with it.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Being able to touch people with my stories. I’ve received some lovely emails from people telling me how much my characters resonate with them.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The water (Puget Sound)

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Anywhere with a view of the water. The Boat Shed, Anthony’s, etc.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? That would have to be my husband, Mark. He’s my best friend and has a wicked imagination and sense of humor, and reminds me what’s important in life.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Depends on the project, but I’m open to suggestions.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I’m finishing up the next Kate Jones thriller, Vigilante Dead, and am excited to bring her back after a two-year hiatus. After that, I’m gearing up for another Leine Basso, which is always great fun J I can’t help it, I love my characters.

How can you contact me? http://dvberkom.com/

 

Leave a Reply

