The Heroine’s Journey of Noemi Gyori

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Playing the flute just takes me into a different universe. I feel very much alive and myself whenever I have my instrument in my hands.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? To keep building a beautiful and strong family and a long lasting, thriving career at the same time! To be very much connected to the world around myself.

What is my greatest fear? To lose being healthy.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I sometimes can become impatient with things in life.

What is my greatest extravagance? I guess the fact that I never give up on things. However impossible something might seem, I will go miles to find solutions. I also don’t let my dreams disappear with time. These result in living an incredibly colourful, exciting and at the same time very demanding life.

On what occasion would I lie? I simply hate lies, so prefer to say things directly, even if it causes tensions in that very moment.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I feel incredibly lucky to be surrounded by amazing family, friends and colleagues, so I am constantly motivated to keep growing as an artist and a person. Whenever I face some kind of difficulty, it really helps me to think of these very strong, resilient, brave, hard working and intelligent people that I know.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Being an artist requires a great sense of balance between self-confidence, contentment and self-criticism. Without either of them you are doomed: if you feel too satisfied, you stop growing, but too much self-doubt will not allow you to be free and will block you from fully submerging in the music itself. This duality can be very straining at times.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Interestingly it feels like ‘happiness’ changes over time and grows with me as I mature. The way I tend to find the best ways to express myself as a musician just makes me feel really happy generally in recent times.

If I could, what would I change about myself? To be more patient and to learn to enjoy the process of how things unfold in life. I have grown to appreciate the journey itself, rather than the result – but I think there is still room for improvement…

What is my greatest achievement in work? To overcome a serious dental operation that has more or less required me to re-learn playing the flute.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Hampstead Heath. It is a place where I can always spend hours and let my thoughts flow. I had a project where I made a photo every time I went there: it is ever changing and you simply cannot have enough of it.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Wahaca at Southbank Centre. It is simply amazing!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband, Gergely Madaras. I think we are equally crazy and are both risk takers, who love travelling and trying out new things in life!

Whom would I like to work with in the future? After many years of joint artistic projects with Gergely, my husband (such as founding the Budapest Youth Symphony Orchestra or the IKZE Contemporary Music Festival of Young Composers), I hope that we will once again embark on a joint artistic venture in the future. Who knows what that will be?

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? The Classical flute and guitar project concert on the 28th of September at the Royal Academy of Music in London and the launch of my new CD ‘Glowing sonorities’, featuring sonatas by Schubert, Reinecke and Franck.

How can you contact me? http://www.facebook.com/noemigyoriflute/ http://www.classicalfluteandguitar.com http://www.noemigyori.com

Leave a Reply

