The Heroine’s Journey of Nuala Campbell

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love the complete freedom my job gives me. As the Managing Director of Titanic Creative Management, there are literally never two days the same. I get to create a healthy balance of creativity and analytical tasks in my day. I also get to travel quite often, just enough to keep my heart happy. But what I love MOST about my job is, because I set up my company as a Social Enterprise, I get to make a difference to people’s lives every single day.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? For me, perfect happiness is not an ‘idea’. Happiness is in the here and now. It’s in accepting and being grateful for the life you have, the friends you have and knowing that today is a gift and it is the greatest day to be alive. Don’t get me wrong, sometimes I need reminded of the fact that life is great, as I’m sure we all do. But happiness is not something I seek to find, happiness is a choice within me every day.

What is my greatest fear? My only fear is not being able to breathe.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? How active my brain is ALL. THE. TIME. It is both my greatest asset and greatest weakness. I would love to have the ability to switch off from time to time.

What is my greatest extravagance? My car. It’s not a big flashy car or anything, but I know that I am very privileged to have been able to buy a brand new car from the show room. I am grateful for it every single morning I go outside and it starts for me first time around.

On what occasion would I lie? So save someone’s feelings from being seriously hurt. I would never intentionally hurt someone. So if there is no need for them to know something that will hurt them, then I won’t tell them. I know that’s not always possible, but if I don’t think there is a point in them knowing, like if they aren’t going to benefit from knowing in anyway, then I won’t say something to them.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? My role models aren’t typically those big financial winners in life. Now I’m not saying that I’m not inspired by great business people, because I am. I read a lot of autobiographies of successful business people. But they are not really my role models. My role models in life are friends and people around me who I see with good hearts. Those who display love openly to people around them, without the fear of appearing weak. For me that is a true role model, and they inspire me to be a better person both in work and personal life all the time.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? There is just SO much of it – and at times, it can really weigh on my mind. I love being the Managing Director as it means I get to steer the company in the direction I want it to go, but with that comes a lot of responsibility too. Sometimes it would be nice to hit pause on all the questions.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I am generally always happy in my work. I truly love it.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would give my mind and ‘OFF’ switch.

What is my greatest achievement in work? My greatest achievement I think has been winning a Business Award at the Institute of Directors in Pall Mall, London this year. I was in a room and up against some seriously high flyers in business. People who have an annual turnover of hundreds of millions of pounds. Then there was me, a new company, within its first 18 months of business, being recognised in the same league as those people. That without a doubt was one of the most surreal and proudest moments I’ve had in my work life.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? For me, I get a lot of inspiration when I am in nature. One of my favourite places in Belfast is Belvoir Forest. It’s such a treat to have a large beautiful forest, complete with the beautiful River Lagan running through it. It is one of the very few places in my city where I can switch off my brain from all the noise for a little while.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? St Georges Market on a Sunday morning! I love the hustle and bustle of the market. There is always live music on with lots of local business having stalls all around. If you are ever in Belfast, you MUST go to St Georges for a ‘Belfast Bap’ on a Sunday morning.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband, Frankie – I don’t think anyone could ever love me as much as that man does. He supports me 100%, even in my crazy ideas. He is without a doubt my biggest cheerleader in life. After Frankie, it has to be my 2 dogs. To them, I am the greatest person alive!

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Karren Brady CBE.  Karren has taken on some pretty monstrous tasks in her work. She has broken so many gender specific clichés and jumps into challenges with both feet. I think she would be very fun to work with.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I have been working on a few new products to release this year as part of my Brand. I have been loving life creating them, so I’m really excited to launch them in the coming months.

How can you contact me? Email: nuala@titaniccreative.co.uk

Office: +44 (0) 28 9058 3964

Leave a Reply

