The Heroine’s Journey of Marthia Carrozzo

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Poetry can be helpful, it is a key to access to the truest and most fragile part of us and help us to understand ourselves and to became better

What is my idea of perfect happiness? To love, even with a poem. Be close to the people I love.

What is my greatest fear? The indifference, into myself and in others. And the indolence

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Frequently to be too empathic. And too much is always bad

What is my greatest extravagance? My perseverance. I am deeply human in all my mistakes and that’s why I try to be helpful to others with poetry

On what occasion would I lie? Ever, even if it hurt me. You can lie to others but never yourself, so it always better to tell the truth.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Life, before the role models, affect me, then surely the great poets, Amelia Rosselli, to cite only one, but also the theater that puts attention on the body and breath: it is important, in my work and in my life

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The narcissism that is always dangerous and banality

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Whenever one of my verses managed to wake somebody up, to console and encourage him and touched his wounds and tried to get a spark of light

If I could, what would I change about myself? my stubbornness, sometimes, sometimes my frailty

What is my greatest achievement in work? When I was able to encourage someone with poetry, to give them hope and strength to believe in himself, to discover the poetry, not only mine, as a tool to understand themselves and to be better men and women

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I come from Puglia, so I couldn’t write and live without the sea and the southern light, but now I live in beautiful Florence, with the Arno with its bridges that is “water” closer to my heart

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? My mother is an excellent cook. So I love to eat at my house, invite my friends, host them and share my most intimate space with them

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I have friends who are very precious, my second family, and then others who are talented poets, writers, musicians, illustrators who are a gift and a continuous dialogue to improve myself

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I’m a lucky woman for precious encounters that I already have. I will leave that life surprises me!

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? “Piccolissimo compianto all’incompiuto” (Besa, July 2016), my new book newborn: a performance about theatrical poem with musicians

How can you contact me? My e-mail : my Google+ : Marthia Carrozzo and marthiacarrozzo@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

