The Heroine’s Journey of Ine Vanoeveren

What is the best thing that I love about my job? Without a doubt performing on stage. There is definitely such a thing as a ‘concert high’!

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Traveling and meeting interesting and passionate musicians all over the world, while doing the thing I love most: performing.

What is my greatest fear? That I will never be satisfied. I have the tendency to overestimate future goals and underestimate current and/or past accomplishments.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My impatience! I think life will be less stressful with more patience!

What is my greatest extravagance? Clothes and shoes. And bags! You will always find me in a big crowd, just by looking for a very colorful person!

On what occasion would I lie? Right now… Who knows? 😉

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I actually never had huge role models or participated in any sort of idolatry, but recently I was personally inspired by two great mentors of mine: John Fonville and Eva Furrer. Just because they are great humans, not only great musicians.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? That I still need to defend the music that I play, since contemporary music is still largely treated as the mean stepsister of classical music. The contemporary repertoire is so enriching, I can only advise people to open up for it and explore this repertoire!

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? This summer I gave a concert in São Paulo for FIME, with all the flute solo music by Brian Ferneyhough: a repertoire that in general is viewed even more negatively than most contemporary styles. But there I played for an amazingly enthusiastic and big crowd, that didn’t know the music beforehand at all, but absolutely loved it!

If I could, what would I change about myself? Patience! Lots of patience…

What is my greatest achievement in work? Being able to build a solo career as a female contemporary flutist, with music that I like: physically demanding and engaging music.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Absolutely nothing! 🙂 The downsides of living in a small village… Although I love the local brewery that is in the neighborhood.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? That same local brewery!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? That will be my parents! They enthusiastically grew into the contemporary music scene with me, drove me everywhere when I was a kid, bought my instruments and supported me all the way through the journey. Now they enjoy traveling to hear me play and they are honestly very happy that I don’t play Mozart anymore 🙂

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Many people! There are so many inspiring composers over the world: Anahita Abbasi, Fernanda Navarro, Jason Eckardt, James Bean, Bernardo Barros, Viola Yip, Marcelo Lazcano, Wojtek Blecharz, Alireza Farhang, Dan Tramte,… Those are people I will work with in the near future, something that I really look forward to!.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? ‘Concentric’, a solo project that translates all my characteristics into music. This will be the first time I will be collaborating with Champ d’Action, a contemporary platform in Belgium known for their adventurous spirit. Something to look forward to!

How can you contact me? Through my website would be the best option: http://www.inevanoeveren.com

Leave a Reply

