The Heroine’s Journey of Ilenia Appicciafuoco

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Working with music (I started to do it relatively “late” in my life) showed me what I really want, what I really am, and how I hope to be in my future. And as I always say, start singing the blues made me a happier person.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Health, commitment, love.

What is my greatest fear? I’m afraid of anything could threat mine and my parents and friends health. I’m also afraid of earthquakes.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Anxiety and, sometimes, low self confidence

What is my greatest extravagance? I’d like to live in other people’s house even just for one day. More generally, If it were possible, I’d like to live one thousands different lives.

On what occasion would I lie? I’d be glad to lie to safeguard people I love

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? In my job, models are a double-edged sword. You must know them, but without running the risk of imitating them. I think it’s the same in daily life.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The worst things are talking too much about money with artistic directors and managers, unfair competition, but also burocracy and, as happens in my country, to face people asking “What’s your REAL job?”.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? The magic happens when I discover something I didn’t know (it almost happens every day), when I make people happier, when I study, when, after a gig, someone comes to me and says “I will start listening jazz”.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would be less lazy, more self confident and musically talented.

What is my greatest achievement in work? With my quartet, Pepper and The Jellies, we played in many Jazz and Blues festivals all around Europe and we did it all by ourselves. As yet, we dont have to thanks anybody. I’m very proud of it.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? They are too many! My village is surrounded by enchanting hilly areas, there is the mountain, the Gran Sasso, and the sea is a few miles out. There is a house in Villa Torre, a little village near mine, where I spent a lot of time when I was a child; this year, with the help of The Jellies, I wrote a ballad thinking about it.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I can’t give you only one answer. It’s impossible. Abruzzo is the region with one of the best cooking in the world, so you can go wherever without being disappointed.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My greatest partner in crime and fan is my boyfriend Andrea, who is also the drummer of Pepper and The Jellies.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? The Wynton Marsalis Orchestra is at the top of my list. I know I can seem presumptuous now but… c’mon, let me dream for a while… and I hope to work with The Jellies (Andrea Galiffa, Marco Galiffa and Emiliano Macrini) until I will be old. It’s a hard task but we’re a great team.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Besides standards, I want write and record three or four original songs for the next album, as soon as possible. I write music, but I’m not satisfied yet. And of course, there are a lot of Festivals, venues and events I’d like to take part to and to play in

How can you contact me?

You can contact me on pepperandthejellies@gmail.com, or on through my website http://www.pepperandthejellies.com/index.php/contact-us-contattaci/

Leave a Reply

