The Heroine’s Journey of Elena Goicoechea

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Owning a magazine allows me to do what I like most –write and design–, meet interesting people, make a difference in society by publishing positive content, and make a living.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Being able to love who you are, as well as to find something good in every person and every situation. Happiness is an attitude, not a goal.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is to lose faith, motivation and joy.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am, at the same time, pretty demanding on myself in some aspects and too indulgent in others.

What is my greatest extravagance? Life is full of irony and I really enjoy black humor, so I usually find the funny side even in the worst tragedies. If karma exists, my funeral will be a stand-up comedy.

On what occasion would I lie? I have the right to remain silent whenever I feel that telling the truth is worthless or painful, rather than lying. I hate when someone lies to me as much as I hate to lie.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? My main role models are my parents. They never find excuses to avoid responsibilities. Love, willpower and principles are their powerful weapons to overcome weakness and failure.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? In order to exist, magazines have to be a profitable business, and that implies administrative work and sales. I don’t really enjoy that part of the job as much as the creative one.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I deeply enjoy the creative process: every minute of writing and designing is like nirvana to me. Receiving a copy print of a new edition is like giving birth… without pain.

If I could, what would I change about myself? It would be nice –and healthy– to enjoy fitness and diet as much as I enjoy chocolate and coffee.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Although it isn’t easy for a magazine to endure nowadays, Mira is 20 years old and MiraTe is celebrating its 2nd anniversary; that’s ‘cause they offer good quality content to a market niche.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Mexico City’s Historic Center, as well as some traditional neighborhoods. Here you can find one of the most emblematic: https://issuu.com/revistamirate/docs/mirate11web

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love Mexican food, and enjoy the same to eat it in the best restaurants or in the market place.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I am a blessed person: my lovely family, many good friends and my great partner support my work. But, above all, I am certain that Mira and MiraTe will endure as long as God wants them to.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I feel specially comfortable and inspired when I am surrounded by creative, intelligent and positive people. The list would be endless.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? We’re planning a congress titled “Extraordinary Women”, which will take place next year. It’s another way to provide content that contribute to the personal development of our followers.

Leave a Reply

