The Heroine’s Journey of Linda Donahue

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love telling stories and birthing characters to tell those stories.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? The freedom to write and share my stories without worrying about where my next paycheck is coming from. Also, Nutella. Nutella is happiness.
What is my greatest fear? That I’m not good enough.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  Believing that I’m not good enough. It translates to procrastination, hibernation, and eating too much Nutella.
What is my greatest extravagance? Nutella. Also, books, vinyl records (since I purchased a turntable), and candles.
On what occasion would I lie? As a writer, I lie all the time. Sometimes it’s through my characters. Sometimes it’s to myself. And, though I’m loathe to admit it, I sometimes lie to clients (“Really? I emailed that to you yesterday.”) …and editors (“Really? I never received that email.”) 
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?  I can only look to other successful writers as role models for inspiration on writing habits and rituals, because I really need to develop better writing habits and rituals.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  Almost every writer has the same dislike: writing. The act of writing is a torturous, solitary pursuit, and there are a thousand other things to do that are far more pleasurable. Writers love the state of “have written” far more.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Having finished writing (and rewriting) something, reading it back, and not wanting to change a word.
If I could, what would I change about myself?  My metabolism. Also, believing that I’m not good enough.
What is my greatest achievement in work?  I’ll let you know when I get there.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  I like to recharge my batteries on Friday evenings right on the beach in Surfside (Miami Beach). I gather with a group of women ranging in age from 30 to 93, to “picnic” (sometimes setting up a little buffet table) and drink wine and Prosecco, and just laugh, talk, and share.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?  There are so many great restaurants in Miami. It really is a foodie town.  
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  My aunt said she was dying to read my first novel … and then she died. So I would say my biggest “fans” would be my friends who continually ask me about my progress, and encourage me to keep moving forward.
Whom would I like to work with in the future?  The same literary agents/publicists as my favorite bestselling authors.
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?  Every story I begin sparks another story, so I look forward to finishing this story so I can begin on the next one.

How can you contact me? linda@lindadonahue.com

Leave a Reply

