The Heroine’s Journey of Laura Loriga

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I think my favorite part about it are the signs of the path we trace in time, and those of the people who accompany us on it.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? It is not so far from where I feel in some lucky moments; i think it might be in a sense of belonging, mixed to a sense of growth and freedom (of expression) in what I do.

What is my greatest fear? In all honesty, I think it is deep solitude.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Impulsiveness.

What is my greatest extravagance? I am not sure I am that extravagant in the end. I have quite an obsession for certain voices, sounds, word roots, old books, people’s stories, places, but it is probably more nerdy than anything else?

On what occasion would I lie? To protect myself or someone else. Probably not with the intention of hurting.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? It is very important in both, and these examples can come from people I am close to, or someone I never met and never will. I would not know with the same clearness where I am, or where I want to go, if I did not have them.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Probably the amount of time it can take to get some results, but in the end it is part of it, a fundamental one.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? On stage.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would give myself more discipline, and more independence, from myself first, in following certain artistic choices.

What is my greatest achievement in work? The fortune of understanding we can really develop our own voice, and that it can be extremely fun.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I have two cities at the moment, New York and Bologna: in New York, some special places in Greenpoint and Bedstuy.

In Bologna, Piazza Santo Stefano and my bandmate Ste’s house in the woods.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? In New York, I really like Troost (drinks) and Samurai Mama (food).

In Bologna, al Vagh en Ufezzi (food) and Freakout (drinks/music).

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My dearest people, and my fellow Mimes of Wine, along with Adam Moseley and Paolo Naselli Flores.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would like to develop more soundtrack like work (with voices too), in particular for dance.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? A series of new voice experiments and one beautiful collaboration with composer Leo-Z.

How can you contact me?

mimesofwine@gmail.com

http://www.mimesofwine.come

Leave a Reply

