The Heroine’s Journey of Laura Garza

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The possibility of creating something from scratch.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? A calm afternoon surrounded by nature, drawing and having a cup of hot chocolate with my beloved ones.

What is my greatest fear? To loose inspiration.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My selfishness.

What is my greatest extravagance? My artistic work, especially if it involves performance execution.

On what occasion would I lie? To protect my kids. Also to stay at home and work instead of going to the supermarket.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Maybe I can’t avoid mentioning Joseph Beuys. Right now I am still learning from him. But I have had many teachers in my life. Each one of them has modeled my path one way or another. I am so grateful to so many people, that I can’t mention each one of them.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? To have to work to sell it.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When It serves as a medium to meet new people. When it has a social message. When it has given me the opportunity to travel abroad.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would try to focus on just one project instead of trying to make a lot of them at the same time.

What is my greatest achievement in work? The opportunity to teach young people what I´ve learned.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Primavera Forest. Also the small streets downtown.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? The Doña Gabina Escolastica Pozole in downtown Zapopan. Also Cafe Candela. And the Japanese place at Justo Sierra St. and Chapultepec Av.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My students. My family. My artist friends.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would love to work with Ai Wei Wei. With Sebastiao Salgado. Also with Laura Anderson Barbata.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I am working with artist Claudia Rodriguez in a project about claiming the human rights of women workers in the fashion industry. Stay tuned!

How can you contact me? http://lagarzapinta.com https://www.facebook.com/lagarzapinta lagarzapinta@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

