The Heroine’s Journey of Manuela Gomez

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love creative jobs, being able to “imagine and dream” something and then seeing how it comes to life. It’s like making dreams come true.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Doing things with love… even the smallest ones, those that seem meaningless… everything we do from the deep of our hearts conveys something special and even if it is untangible, it touches people.

What is my greatest fear? I am scared of doing a job I don’t like and living without passion

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I take everything too seriously…

What is my greatest extravagance? Wearing my golden glittered booties to go groceries.

On what occasion would I lie? I prefer the truth…

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? My father is my inspiration: a tireless worker (who doesn’t want to retire), a deep man and who always keeps his word. Doing a good job isn’t enough, the relationship among people is essential, winning their trust and keeping it in the time

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I am a fashion designer and a photographer. As for photography, people often think it is a job they can go by without paying.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? As a fashion designer, one of the most rewarding moments of my job is getting new products. Right then the dream (what we kept in our minds up to that moment) becomes real. The other one is looking at the customer’s eyes lighting up when they receive their order.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would make problems smaller rather than bigger

What is my greatest achievement in work? Being recognized as a fashion designer in Italy where some of the world’s most important designers work. Reading that journalists describe my shoes as “jewels for your feet”

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? When I created my brand I got inspired from the 18th century palazzos in Turin/Torino where I live. As Turin was the first Italian capital, there are many precious places, elegant and unique. I visit them often to get the inspiration for my new works.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? In the summer, I love being in the open air, especially at the bars, coffee shops and restaurants along the river, in the Valentino park. I am fascinated by nature and water, they sooth my soul

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My cat, Piccolo Amore (Little Love) who follows each and every of my moves.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would like to keep collaborating with new and established creative talents. Exchanging ideas and joining our forces allow us to reach amazing results.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? At the end of October i will take part to a fashion show in a wonderful location. Stay tuned!

How can you contact me? http://www.manuelagomez.com Facebook: Manuela Gomez. Handmade in Italy info@manuelagomez.com

Leave a Reply

