The Heroine’s Journey of Cecilia Serra Bargallo

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I am a clarinet player and teacher. The best thing about my work, both playing concerts and teaching, is to be able to communicate music to different people, from very young to adults. To express myself and communicate is for me a necessity.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? To find a balance between my needs and wishes and those of the people I love.
What is my greatest fear? I try to accept all that life holds for me, but probably I fear for bad things can occur the people I love, my children…
What is the trait I most deplore in myself? Lack of courage. Sometimes I get the feeling I do not enough for the things I want… I don’t like fighting… and sometimes I think I’ve must…
What is my greatest extravagance? Olives phobia…
On what occasion would I lie? I suppose, in order to keep my children or loved people save…
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Before I had many models in clarinet playing: the great clarinetist I knew and other admired musicians, my clarinet teachers… Now, I prefer to look for my own way to do things, as much in work as in life.
What is the thing I dislike the most in my work? Not to connect with people so deeply as I wish or not at all…
When and where was I the happiest in my work? It was in April 2016, playing a concert in the Conservatory where I studied, in Tarragona. My father was there and I felt very happy to play for him. There was also part of my first music teachers and part of my family.
If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be more courageous, to fight a little bit more… And to be able to get up earlier in the morning…
What is my greatest achievement in work? To be happy with it, to enjoy it so much, that I don’t feel it as a work, but a part of my day to day.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I live in Rivas, a small town near Madrid. We have a lagoon, “Laguna del Campillo”, and it is very relaxing to take a walk aroud it. It approaches me to nature, birdsong and having time for family and friends.
What is my favorite place to eat and drink in my city? I have to say it is my own house… But in Madrid there are some cafeterias in the very city center, that are so nice to sit down with friends. Not one in particular, any of them in good company… and also lonely.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? In my work, I have many friends and part of my family, who try to come to my concerts; when I teach, my greatest fans are my students. My parents are from far my unconditional sponsors… My partner in crime… my husband.
Whom would I like to work with in the future? I don’t know specifically, but a good violinist to have the chance to explore the repertoire for clarinet, violin and piano, that I like so much!
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? In this moment I have two concert projects that I wish to establish and to make grow: one is the clarinet/piano duo with a fantastic pianist, José Mª Duque, and the other one is the foundation of the Clarinet Ensemble “Caroline Schleicher”.
Regarding teaching, I have in project in several music schools to show the clarinet and its possibilities to kids to introduce them to music.
How can you contact me?
Leave a Reply

