The Heroine’s Journey of Laura Aprati

What is the best thing that I love about my work? My work is something that is inside me. I choose it long time ago for my need to understand what happen around me and in the world. I love the “knolowdge” I catch every day

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Sea, wild nature and special people

What is my greatest fear? Don’t be willing and able to help someone in danger

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My uncontrolled rage. Sometimes I lose my mind and I’m like a hurricane!

What is my greatest extravagance? I don’t know really, maybe dance alone……or maybe something too secret to reveal…..

On what occasion would I lie? Only to save a human being.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I based my life on my father words “ Be yourself, respect the others, don’t forget from where you come and be curious, anything is like as appears”. In my work the role models are people like Tiziano Terzani, Frank Capa or the young Karam Amsri, photoreporter from Aleppo,or others collegues died to give us the opportunity to know how the world is going. I decided to be a journalist reading, in 1970, the description of Vietnam war by Oriana Fallaci, italian journalist.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The “scoop” reaserched only to say “I’m the first”. Passing over the heads of people and their soul….. Maybe they do for money or to preserve the job but I can not justify.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? New York 1997, my first job outside Italy. I was so proud of me to be there! Jerusalem in 2004 at the Damasco door: colours, sounds, stones, all talked me about a world that you have to touch to understand. Lampedusa in 2016: at the door of Europe to know what means to be migrant.But I want to remember also Sarajevo, Jenuary 1996: I wasn’t happy but those days are impressed in my mind.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would change my costant rush to something new….I always hungry and foolish, I think.

What is my greatest achievement in work? To be here and to have a lot of stories collected in the last years: women in the crime organization, women in the muslim countries,volunteers in the NGO, migrants that escape by war and hunger…..

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I live in Rome so it’s very difficult to choose but, finally, the Gianicolo Belvedere.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? “Al Chianti”, near Trevi’s Fountain… you can eat or just drink a glass of wine in a beautiful place.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Enrico Fierro: a great journalist. It’s the memory about crime organization in Italy but he is,above all, a great man with a deeply awareness.We write together, we are most that two friends…..we are sister and brother ….

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Oprah Winfrey or Rima Karaki

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I’m looking for a reportage on the migrants and refugees. I want to spent some days on a ship involved in the rescue, in the Mediterranean Sea, to touch, first-hand, the stories (migrants and rescuers).

How can you contact me?

A lot of choice: laaprati@gmail.com https://www.facebook.com/laura.aprati

@lauraaprati https://www.linkedin.com/in/laura-aprati-bb167825?trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile

“I’m always hungry”
Leave a Reply

