The Heroine’s Journey of Elena Copelli

What is the best thing that I love about my work? / I am a performer and choreographer and I love every aspect of my work: first the research, then the creation of the project, both abstract and physical, and finally the performing act.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? / To be able to do what you love in life and share it with your family.

What is my greatest fear? / To stop doing what I love.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? / My laziness, I am always fighting against it, keeping myself very busy,

What is my greatest extravagance? Trying to look for the truth and the beauty of life, in a world that worships the fake and the vulgar.

On what occasion would I lie? I am a very bad liar, so I try not to; but sometimes, I embellish the reality when I am not satisfied about it.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I try to take inspiration from the wonderful people that I knew but, one of my greater quality, I think is to be original in my way of working and creating.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? To have to wait: when you have to wait the answer for a project, for funds or for a work. I am not good at all at waiting.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? The first time I presented my work outside Italy. Feeling your work has no frontier and could be enjoyed from every culture is wonderful.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Sometimes, I think I would like to be more acrobatic; but I have learnt to accept and love my imperfections as an artist.

What is my greatest achievement in work? To be able to create a project from nothing and seeing it in reality.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I love to walk in my city, Bologna. Sometimes I have new ideas while I am walking under the “portici”.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? There are a lot of nice places to drink around and inside the Mercato delle Erbe. I like to go to eat at E’ Cucina.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband. He is always there for me and has never stopped to support me and given me precious advices.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would like to work with sound and visual artists, to explore the relationship of performing art and technology.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Right now I am beginning a period of residency for a new project on the diary form. I am very excited to begin and can’t wait to see the result.

How can you contact me? Through my website: http://www.elenacopelli.it

 

Leave a Reply

