The Heroine’s Journey of Angelique Slob

What is the best thing that I love about my work? In my business I have combined the things I am most passionate about: to bring more freedom to the workplace, how people organise themselves and my love for travelling. So, the thing I love most about my job is that I am getting paid for being me.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I would be perfectly happy if I was at a beautiful place somewhere in the world, being surrounded by the most special people that I have met during my travels in the last 20 years

What is my greatest fear? To be stuck in a 9-5 job and do the same, alienating work everyday, and not being able to travel because of that same job.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am enthusiastic and a go-getter. If I have an idea, I really can’t wait to start working on it and sometimes I don’t think things through. Also, I am really bad in asking for and accepting help from others.

What is my greatest extravagance? Booking flights to exotic places and live there for a while in really nice apartments.

On what occasion would I lie? I believe that if you feel you need to lie to someone close to you, you are living a lie, so I am usually quite honest. But I sometimes tell a little white lie, especially in countries where ‘Dutch directness’ would be considered rude!

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life.Well, one of my favourite characters when I was a child is Pippi Langstrumf. I love Pippi because she is a strong, independent girl that lives her life on her own terms. She challenges the status quo, showing how ridiculous some of the things that “we are supposed to do” are. Also she teaches to believe in magic, she has loads of money and travels the world by herself, not being scared of anything!

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The “sales” part. It is very fulfilling to bring freedom, purpose and connection the world of work and to help people to life the live the want to live. But if I feel I need to “sell” this, I feel disconnected and I get unhappy.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I was living in Brazil, in a beach town, developing my very first online program that helps start ups to create great cultures with freedom, connection and purpose. I loved that I was able to work from paradise while developing something that could benefit people in different locations around the world.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I thrive more in creativity than in structure, but sometime I would want to be more structured and have better time management. So I think I want to find more balance between those two poles.

What is my greatest achievement in work? When I was working with a team and that team had a great insight during my session, after being stuck for years. That insight was the base of a mayor cultural change that benefits this start-up till today.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I am semi-nomadic so I don’t really have one city. I get most inspired by working from different locations, I think it stimulates creativity. Currently I am based in Amsterdam, and I found that being surrounded by art and history stimulates me as well.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I am just finding out the nice places, since I have only been in Amsterdam for a couple of months. But I am spending a few days a week in a co-working space that is located in a Lebanese restaurant, so I have really tasty lunches!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? When I see this question the first person who jumps to mind is my friend Michelle. We have met when we were both living in Brazil as expats/digital nomads. We supported each other while both struggling with the business and personal challenges we were facing.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I love to work with the young and open-minded talents that I see in the start-up scene. To work with the new generation that wants something different from life than the 9-5 rat race and that wants to build cool organisations and wants to be part of the Future of Work.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? To work with a company that is currently based in a city and where people commute to the office. I would love to help a company the whole way in my most recent “from office to beach” program.

How can you contact me? You can join find me on http://www.pinqconsult.com or via email: Angelique@pinqconsult.com Join my Facebook Group The Future of Work is Freedom or add me on Linkedin!

Leave a Reply

